Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-26-2009, 02:24 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Neutrals


I want to add a 15A circuit and I have an unused 15A breaker which was added by en electrician about 12 years ago. The breaker was added when another 15A circuit was added. They were both extened to a 4 inch box in my crawl space. The unused circuit ends there.

I noticed that the two 15A circuits are on the same side of the panel and the electrician only extended one neutral. Should I added another neutral run from the panel before I use the unused circuit. I would assume it is desirable to keep the neutrals paired with the hot and not mix and match (although I understand that is often done).

I would appreciate any advice.

measure thrice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 02:33 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Neutrals


Are these runs both in the same conduit?
Or is it a single cable?

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 02:34 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Neutrals


Are they on the same side and next to each other? For example, circuits 4 and 6. If so, you would just need to tie the handles together or get a double pole 15 or pull another neutral.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 03:06 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Neutrals


I'm not near the box right now, but it is the upper left breaker and the ajacent breaker below it. They are the wider breakers as some of my circuits have a pair of separate breakers occupying the same real estate.

Yes, they do go through the same conduit.

Maybe I should just pull another neutral because it is a 3/4 inch conduit with only 4 wires in it. There is ample space and the run is less than 6 feet to the 4 inch box where the runs will split.
measure thrice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 03:07 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Neutrals


That would be the best thing to do.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 04:56 PM   #6
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Neutrals


I agree with wirenut. Pair them up at both ends with tape or preferably a tie strap, so you know (at both ends) which neutral goes with which hot.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 04:57 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Neutrals


That's easy, yeah I'd just pull another neutral
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 11:38 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Neutrals


Thanks for the advice
measure thrice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 11:47 PM   #9
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Smile

Neutrals


Make sure to use Thhn. Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 12:40 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Columbia Heights/NE Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 86
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Neutrals


I would say use it as a MWBC and replace the two single pole breakers with a double (required as of recently), but because the run is so short, and the conduit is so wide, adding a neutral sounds like a winner.
thegonagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 12:56 AM   #11
Licensed Electrician
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rahway, NJ
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to Magnettica
Default

Neutrals


For the homeowner, adding a separate neutral here is the wise thing to do.

Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
neutral


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring Neutrals together. Randell Tarin Electrical 37 05-30-2008 11:19 AM
Hall light worked before installing a new light fixture in bathroom jcfan7 Electrical 40 02-23-2008 10:46 AM
breaker panel question chadvavra Electrical 11 08-10-2007 10:20 AM
connecting multiple neutrals toghether best way? J187 Electrical 4 08-17-2006 10:35 AM
Lack of neutrals in new building userabuser Electrical 2 10-21-2005 06:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.