Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-26-2011, 06:00 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 279
Share |
Default

neutral wire to switch?


I just purchases some new switches for my bathroom fans, I currently have the wind up timers on them, these new ones are fancy push button times. the problem is they require a neutral wire. How so I go about getting a neutral wire down into the switch box if all that's in there is the hot wire?

Do I need to pull out the electrical box that's in the wall and run a totally new wire? I just dont see an easy way of getting a wire from the attic into an existing switch box halfway down the wall.

Also can I tap into any neutral wire or does it have to be the same neutral that the switch curcuit is on?

cbzdel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 06:15 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,945
Default

neutral wire to switch?


Has to be the same neutral as the power feed to the fan. Pull out the existing 2 wire cable and replace with a 3 wire cable. Sometimes it is easier to knock out the old box, fish in the new cable and replace the box.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
Code05 (09-27-2011)
Old 09-27-2011, 04:34 AM   #3
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

neutral wire to switch?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
Has to be the same neutral as the power feed to the fan. Pull out the existing 2 wire cable and replace with a 3 wire cable. Sometimes it is easier to knock out the old box, fish in the new cable and replace the box.
Yep. 300.3(B)
Conductors of the Same Circuit. All conductors of
the same circuit and, where used, the grounded conductor
and all equipment grounding conductors and bonding conductors
shall be contained within the same raceway, auxiliary
gutter, cable tray, cablebus assembly, trench, cable, or
cord, unless otherwise permitted in accordance with
300.3(B)(1) through (B)(4).
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 09:47 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 279
Default

neutral wire to switch?


Thanks guys!
cbzdel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fan/light switch buzzing mjlocat Electrical 4 05-23-2010 02:44 PM
Red Wire Travler and Switch Operation ferrerij Electrical 3 03-14-2010 10:48 PM
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 07:11 AM
Neutral Wire? 4x15mph Electrical 8 11-24-2008 01:00 PM
can't get new light fixture to work carolcwilson Electrical 24 08-12-2008 12:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.