Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-03-2012, 10:04 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Neutral wire size?


Hi guys, I am having voltage difference in my house. The power company guy told me it is your neutral wire from breaker circuit to the meter. And I am responsible for the replacement of the wire or should I say wires. What I want to know is if I have to change all three wires or can I just change the neutral wire(its better to change all three but I am short on money). Secondly which size of neutral wire should I install (for my knowledge so I can check the prices of cable) since I can't read the print on the existing cable. I have a 1800 s/f 2 story house.

daythunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 10:27 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Neutral wire size?


IF the wires are separate conductors installed in a conduit, then you may replace one of them without changing the others.

Highly unlikely that such a wire would go bad, however.

If the conductor itself is bad, it's usually a concentric bare conductor consisting of several strands wrapped around the other wires as part of a cable assembly. Type SE cable. If this is the case, you have no choice but to replace the whole thing.

Some questions that come to mind are (in no particular order):

1) What size is your service equipment (200 Amp?)?
2) Type and size of entrance cable (type SE, or ?)?
3) Length of cable from meter box to service panel?
4) Copper or aluminum?
5) Did POCO confirm the neutral is good at the meter box?
6) This job is usually NOT a D-I-Y project, as you are going to have to tie it into an existing meter box, and it may be live and dangerous to deal with.

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 07:55 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,965
Rewards Points: 2,026
Default

Neutral wire size?


Most likely the problem is at one (or both) ends of the cable. A loose connection there can quickly lead to burning away of the cable end and/or the clamp or lug to which it is attached. Do you actually see significant voltage differences, hot to neutral, as you measure at the big lugs in the panel where the neutral you are questioning comes in?

However cables that run underground can suffer metal damage from corrosion in the middle if for some reason, perhaps due to burrowing animals, the insulation gets damaged.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 10:37 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Neutral wire size?


I pull meters all the time to replace wires like this. But this is not really a DIY project. Even with the meter pulled there are are live unfused parts inside the meter socket. And old meter sockets can have old brttle parts that break easy. You need to decide whether it can take you losening and tightening the lugs again.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 11:01 AM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,695
Rewards Points: 2,188
Default

Neutral wire size?


A DIY will not have the proper training or protective equipment to pull a meter.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
electures (06-04-2012)
Old 06-04-2012, 03:32 PM   #6
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,681
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

Neutral wire size?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
A DIY will not have the proper training or protective equipment to pull a meter.
My thoughts exactly. Hire a pro.

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 wire outlets: connect neutral to ground? border collie Electrical 19 04-12-2013 12:29 PM
Why can't you connect Ground/Neutral bus bars on a sub secutanudu Electrical 42 11-07-2012 01:33 PM
3 Wire Set Up . . . Neutral Wire Tied to Ground Wires irishMonster Electrical 14 10-21-2010 08:20 AM
Sharing Neutrals on the same phase electro Electrical 30 08-12-2010 02:10 PM
Is using a ground wire as neutral wire safe? Head Fred Electrical 9 12-18-2008 02:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.