Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-30-2008, 12:03 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,248
Share |
Question

neutral and grounding buses


i just noticed that the neutral and grounding buses had been used interchangeably by the previous owner of the house and i kind of cleaned it up: concentrated neutral on the one where neutral was the majority and vice versa.

Q1: but, since it did work OK before, i was wondering if they can be used interchangeably ? my neutral bus is also running out of slots and i need to add a few more circuits so was wondering if i can use the grounding bus, which has more vacancy as it is, for some reason, bigger.

Q2: if the cannot be used interchangeably and the previous owner was sloppy, is there any way to find out which one is really which (since the majority principle i described above is not necessarily to be trusted - as is usually the case with all things in life).

thanks,

- a -

amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 12:11 PM   #2
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,534
Default

neutral and grounding buses


If this is the main service disconnect panel, then they can be used interchangeably. If this is a subpanel, then they must be kept separate.

__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 12:14 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,248
Question

neutral and grounding buses


thanks. why is it different, if you don't mind me asking ?
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 12:54 PM   #4
Power Gen/RS Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
Posts: 749
Default

neutral and grounding buses


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
thanks. why is it different, if you don't mind me asking ?
In the main service panel, ground and neutral busses are bonded together. In a sub, they are intentionally isolated from one another for safety reasons. In the latter case, if they were bonded and the feeder neutral became broken or disconnected, the ground would be carrying the neutral current back to the service and possibly bring exposed parts to some potential higher than ground.
__________________
Well, now, there's what's right and what's right and never the twain shall meet.
BigJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Max amps allowed - electrician advice needed Des Electrical 27 06-05-2008 10:31 PM
Range Outlet Receptical Wiring - PICS nave Electrical 45 05-29-2008 06:37 PM
Nuetral from feeder cable to main panel question? TW Lucas Electrical 14 05-08-2008 11:33 AM
advice on installing equipment grounding bar in main panel pacifier1er Electrical 5 05-29-2007 05:55 PM
Suspected open/loose service neutral mrtomwj Electrical 5 09-28-2006 08:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.