Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-16-2011, 11:07 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 11
Share |
Default

neutral to ground bonding


I am aware that the only time that you bond the neutral to the ground is when it is in an entrance panal. Well I have a dilemma. The city that I reside requires me to install a new meter base which includes an outside breaker for the fire dept to be able to shut off the house if needed. Now since there is a breaker beyond the entrance panel, does this mean that the entrane panel is now treated as a sub panel and should have the neutral and ground isolated from one another? Then do the bonding in the meter base?
Thanks in advance

jlsdcen2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 11:14 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,867
Default

neutral to ground bonding


Technically with the first "whole service disconnect (disconnecting means)" upstream of the main panel the said main panel becomes a subpanel.

One problem is that there may be just a 3 conductor cable from the meter to the former main panel: combined ground/neutral plus the two hot conductors. For the latter panel to be a subpanel you need 4 conductor cable to have the separate ground.

Psst! I would be tempted to quietly let the existing 3 conductor cable stay in place and hope that that slips by the inspector. On the other hand, if it was a new or larger "main" panel that called attention to the need to upgrade the meter base then an upgraded service entrance cable must have 4 conductors.

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 05-17-2011 at 11:54 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 07:23 AM   #3
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

neutral to ground bonding


I'm in a rural area of MN and my POCO now requires that the meter be installed a minimum of 50 feet from the structure. The meter pedestal contains a disconnect switch, not a breaker, along with the bars for connecting cables. The bottom compartment is accessible by the customer and give access to the connection points and the disconnect switch. The pedestal is grounded with a ground rod and a piece of bare copper wire. I was only required to run the two hots and neutral to my panel. My panel is a main panel with a bonding bar between the neutral and ground bus and has a Ufer ground.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub Panel Main Lug Load Center - Single Phase ? Roy Rowlett Electrical 21 08-20-2009 06:55 PM
Real Basic Electrical question re: neutral wire hellothere123 Electrical 22 07-21-2009 06:07 PM
Outlet neutral bonded to ground? rjniles Electrical 1 07-19-2008 11:12 AM
Ground rod or not? brotherman Electrical 30 07-15-2008 04:58 PM
Bonding Ground and Neutral matrix733 Electrical 11 11-28-2007 06:22 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.