Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-24-2013, 03:06 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 768
Rewards Points: 518
Default

Neutral current


When putting an amprobe(tester) on a neutral should it generate current? If not what does that indicate?? Thanks

Mstrlucky74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 03:24 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,111
Rewards Points: 2,132
Default

Neutral current


On a 120 volt circuit, the neutral current is the same as the ungrounded conductor (the hot). If it is not you have a ground fault.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 04:03 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 768
Rewards Points: 518
Default

Neutral current


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
On a 120 volt circuit, the neutral current is the same as the ungrounded conductor (the hot). If it is not you have a ground fault.

Well all the neutrals in my panel don't make the tester go off....the hots obviously do...??
Mstrlucky74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 04:24 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Neutral current


is this a branch circuit neutral? a neutral for a 240v feeder? a neutral on a mwbc?
itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 04:47 PM   #5
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,894
Rewards Points: 2,044
Default

Neutral current


Is it an amp probe or non-contact voltage tester. Voltage and current are not the same thing. An NCV tester does not register on grounded conductors(neutrals).

Last edited by brric; 12-24-2013 at 04:51 PM.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
k_buz (12-24-2013), mpoulton (12-28-2013), plummen (12-24-2013)
Old 12-24-2013, 05:07 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Neutral current


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mstrlucky74 View Post
Well all the neutrals in my panel don't make the tester go off....the hots obviously do...??
"Go off" ???
You are talking about voltage, not current.

Current is amperage, or flow of current, and is present on both the hot(s) and neutral.
Voltage is the push and is only present on the hot conductor(s).

Think in terms of water pipes.
Voltage is the water pressure.
Current is the volume or water flowing.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
ddawg16 (12-24-2013), mpoulton (12-28-2013), Mstrlucky74 (12-26-2013)
Old 12-24-2013, 05:49 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 768
Rewards Points: 518
Default

Neutral current


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Is it an amp probe or non-contact voltage tester. Voltage and current are not the same thing. An NCV tester does not register on grounded conductors(neutrals).
A NCV tester. Here it is. Thanks.

http://www.mymeterstore.com/p3166/am...and_shaker.php
Mstrlucky74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 05:55 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 454
Rewards Points: 254
Default

Neutral current


Utilizing an amp clamp commonly called an Amp-probe

On a 120 VAC 2 wire circuit with a ground
If you have 7 amps on the ungrounded conductor (HOT), you should have 7 amps on the grounded conductor (neutral/common/white)

On a 120 VAC 3 wire (multi wire branch circuit) 2 ungrounded conductors (typically black and red) with a neutral. If you have 7 amps on Black,7 amps on red you should have "0" (zero) amps on the neutral


On a 120 VAC 3 wire (multi wire branch circuit MWBC) 2 ungrounded conductors (typically black and red) with a neutral. If you have 7 amps on Black and 5 amps on red you should have 2 amps on the neutral

At all times you should have "0" (Zero) amps on the ground conductor.

If you take your amp clamp and encompass all the conductors (excluding the ground conductor), both conductors of a 2-wire circuit or all three in a MWBC you will read or should read "0" (Zero) amps. If you read anything beside "0" amps you have a wiring issue.
Know A Little is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Know A Little For This Useful Post:
Mstrlucky74 (12-26-2013)
Old 12-26-2013, 06:28 AM   #9
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 504
Rewards Points: 270
Default

Neutral current


Quote:
Originally Posted by Know A Little View Post
Utilizing an amp clamp commonly called an Amp-probe

On a 120 VAC 2 wire circuit with a ground
If you have 7 amps on the ungrounded conductor (HOT), you should have 7 amps on the grounded conductor (neutral/common/white)

On a 120 VAC 3 wire (multi wire branch circuit) 2 ungrounded conductors (typically black and red) with a neutral. If you have 7 amps on Black,7 amps on red you should have "0" (zero) amps on the neutral


On a 120 VAC 3 wire (multi wire branch circuit MWBC) 2 ungrounded conductors (typically black and red) with a neutral. If you have 7 amps on Black and 5 amps on red you should have 2 amps on the neutral

At all times you should have "0" (Zero) amps on the ground conductor.

If you take your amp clamp and encompass all the conductors (excluding the ground conductor), both conductors of a 2-wire circuit or all three in a MWBC you will read or should read "0" (Zero) amps. If you read anything beside "0" amps you have a wiring issue.
That is true, ONLY if you do not have harmonic loads.

Mark
__________________
Licensed Master Electrician
Commonwealth of Virginia
busman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 05:47 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 454
Rewards Points: 254
Default

Neutral current


Quote:
Originally Posted by busman View Post
That is true, ONLY if you do not have harmonic loads.

Mark
The AVERAGE DIY'er is utilizing single phase 240/120 and 3rd harmonics are not an issue.

Know A Little is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot appliance due to jumpering receptacle neutral to ground screw justplumducky Electrical 6 07-09-2013 05:52 AM
AFCI Breakers Keep Tripping mopowers Electrical 12 09-04-2009 03:11 PM
Electrical connections TazinCR Electrical 11 01-07-2009 07:10 PM
Help if it's not too late!! Cyndi Electrical 255 10-10-2008 09:18 PM
Ground question. mystery guest Electrical 5 07-24-2008 12:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.