Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-14-2012, 07:05 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Share |
Default

neutral the controlling conductor?


As others have stated just because a wires insulation is white does not mean it is a neutral. Switch Loop..............


Last edited by hammerlane; 12-04-2013 at 12:10 PM.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 12:12 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

neutral the controlling conductor?


A cables white conductor can be used as a switch loop in a single pole, 3-way or 4-way switch installation.

The white conductor of a cable can be used to feed a switch or can be a traveler in 3-way(or 4-way) switch installations. The white conductor CANNOT BE USED AS A RETURN CONDUCTOR FROM THE SWITCH TO THE SWITCHED DEVICE.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 02:05 PM   #18
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,562
Default

neutral the controlling conductor?


Quote:
Originally Posted by FISH96 View Post
Greetings To All:

There should never be any instance with residental house wiring in the State of New Jersey where the neutral (white) conductor is run through a switch to control any electrical device. Correct?

This is an unsafe, dangerous and should be corrected immediaetly. Right?

Upon discovering this situation the device has been put out of service.

After all of your learned and experienced answers the plan is to have this remedied by this week's end, if you say so.

Regards,
fish96
Sounds like a switch leg. The white wire is probabely the feed to the switch. The black is the switch leg back. What does it control? When was the house wired? What is the total conductor count in the box?
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 06:39 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 34
Default

neutral the controlling conductor?


greetings and thank you all:

to be on the safe side i am going to call in a pro to give myself piece of mind. perhaps i should of done just that from the get go and not have bothered you very kind folks.
regrads fish96
FISH96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 06:45 PM   #20
Pure Genius
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dayton OH
Posts: 221
Default

neutral the controlling conductor?


Quote:
Originally Posted by FISH96
greetings and thank you all:

to be on the safe side i am going to call in a pro to give myself piece of mind. perhaps i should of done just that from the get go and not have bothered you very kind folks.
regrads fish96
Could you please post a pic of your switch?
Dierte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 07:02 PM   #21
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

neutral the controlling conductor?


Quote:
Originally Posted by FISH96 View Post
there are three conductors in the box, black (hot), white ( neutral) and bare ground.

the only conductor on the switch is white( neutral) in and out. the connections are on oppisite sides of the switch.
I would also like pictures of this. White conductor in and out. On both sides of the switch. Kinda reminds me of when I saw someone use 14-2 for a three way switch.

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why can't you connect Ground/Neutral bus bars on a sub secutanudu Electrical 42 11-07-2012 01:33 PM
Need Neutral Connections - Installing Subpanel ctlu008 Electrical 10 01-01-2012 07:54 AM
upping neutral and ground conductors for multiple circuits crankcase Electrical 2 03-18-2011 12:37 PM
Electrical connections TazinCR Electrical 11 01-07-2009 07:10 PM
Suspected open/loose service neutral mrtomwj Electrical 5 09-28-2006 08:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.