Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-13-2012, 05:15 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 34
Share |
Default

neutral the controlling conductor?


Greetings To All:

There should never be any instance with residental house wiring in the State of New Jersey where the neutral (white) conductor is run through a switch to control any electrical device. Correct?

This is an unsafe, dangerous and should be corrected immediaetly. Right?

Upon discovering this situation the device has been put out of service.

After all of your learned and experienced answers the plan is to have this remedied by this week's end, if you say so.

Regards,
fish96

FISH96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 05:50 PM   #2
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

neutral the controlling conductor?


Does not matter what state you are, I do not know of any jurisdiction amends this. Note the exception though

404.2 Switch Connections.

(A) Three-Way and Four-Way Switches. Three-way and
four-way switches shall be wired so that all switching is
done only in the ungrounded circuit conductor. Where in
metal raceways or metal-armored cables, wiring between
switches and outlets shall be in accordance with 300.20(A).
Exception: Switch loops shall not require a grounded
conductor.

(B) Grounded Conductors. Switches or circuit breakers
shall not disconnect the grounded conductor of a circuit.


Exception: A switch or circuit breaker shall be permitted
to disconnect a grounded circuit conductor where all circuit
conductors are disconnected simultaneously, or where
the device is arranged so that the grounded conductor cannot
be disconnected until all the ungrounded conductors of
the circuit have been disconnected.


Last edited by Code05; 05-13-2012 at 05:58 PM.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 06:13 PM   #3
Pure Genius
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dayton OH
Posts: 222
Default

neutral the controlling conductor?


Can you show a pic of the switch? Is the wiring knob and tube? It was common practice in those days to switch the neutral
Dierte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 06:16 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

neutral the controlling conductor?


Quote:
Originally Posted by FISH96 View Post
Greetings To All:

There should never be any instance with residental house wiring in the State of New Jersey where the neutral (white) conductor is run through a switch to control any electrical device. Correct?

This is an unsafe, dangerous and should be corrected immediaetly. Right?

Upon discovering this situation the device has been put out of service.

After all of your learned and experienced answers the plan is to have this remedied by this week's end, if you say so.

Regards,
fish96
Who are you taking to??

Are we missing something?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 06:30 PM   #5
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,592
Default

neutral the controlling conductor?


Just because the wire is white doesn't mean it's a neutral.

If a two-wire cable is run from a ceiling box down to a switch box, it'll have a black and a white. In this case, it's required to use the white as the hot and the black as the switch leg.

You're supposed to identify the white as a hot, but in my experience, this isn't done very often.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 06:55 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 34
Default

neutral the controlling conductor?


greetings to all who replied so far:

it is a simple on off switch. the neutra(white conductor)l is wired to the switch to control the energizing of the device.

to speedy peety i have spoken to no no one i discovered this situation while effecting maintenance on the appliance.

i am taking all comments as this situation is not code and should be changed to the hot( black conductor) throught the switch.

i had confirmed with great effort that black is hot and white is 'solid neutral' in this circuit

regards and thank you to all
fish96
FISH96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 07:23 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,730
Default

neutral the controlling conductor?


How many wires in the box, and what wires are on the switch?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 08:12 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 34
Default

neutral the controlling conductor?


hello all.,

there are three conductors in the box, black (hot), white ( neutral) and bare ground.

the only conductor on the switch is white( neutral) in and out. the connections are on oppisite sides of the switch.

i suspect something is amiss as the ground condutor is spliced with a wire nut. i believe this contavenes all NEC's as the splice should be formed with a copper crimp connector expressly for this purpose.

thanks all,
fish96
FISH96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 08:26 PM   #9
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

neutral the controlling conductor?


If there are 2 conductors [+ground] in the box and only the white goes to the switch, then the switch wouldn't do anything.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 08:27 PM   #10
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,975
Default

neutral the controlling conductor?


Sounds like someone copied and pasted directly from their homework.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 08:29 PM   #11
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,975
Default

neutral the controlling conductor?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Who are you taking to??

Are we missing something?
Yes. They are copying and pasting directly from their homework, or are a foreigner and having someone translate to the site, so they can have everyone do their homework for them.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 05:06 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 34
Default

neutral the controlling conductor?


Greetings:
i am not a faking this.i am not cutting and pasting from a homework assignment, this is a legit concern with what i have discovered in my home.

so is the use of the white wire thru a switch to control the operation of an appliance/device code? three wires black, white, ground are in the box white thru the switch.

i do not know why my previous posts aroused any concerns of fakery.
regards,
fish96
FISH96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 05:30 AM   #13
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 699
Default

neutral the controlling conductor?


if there are only 3 wires (1 cable) in the switch box, the white is NOT a neutral, but *should* have been re-identified as a hot wire
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 05:39 AM   #14
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

neutral the controlling conductor?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Techy View Post
if there are only 3 wires (1 cable) in the switch box, the white is NOT a neutral, but *should* have been re-identified as a hot wire
This.


Like micromind said, just because the wire is white doesn't mean it's a neutral.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (05-14-2012)
Old 05-14-2012, 06:06 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,926
Default

neutral the controlling conductor?


It is okay to use wire nuts for the (bare and/or green) ground wires.

Twisting with no crimp and no wire nut is nowadays not considered good enough.
Quote:
Originally Posted by FISH96
...there are three conductors in the box, black (hot), white ( neutral) and bare ground.

the only conductor on the switch is white( neutral) in and out. the connections are on oppisite sides of the switch.
Does it work?

Where does the black wire go?

When a single cable with 2 conductors with ground is the only wiring in the switch box and goes up to where the power and the light are, you correctly connect the black wire to one switch terminal and the white wire to the other. Up where the light is you connect the black wire to the light or receptacle hot terminal and the white wire to the single black or cluster of black wires for the power. Both ends of that white wire should be marked with a black or red band of tape or stain. Other, incorrect, connections may result in a short circuit that trips the breaker and might damage the switch
Quote:
Originally Posted by FISH96
i do not know why my previous posts aroused any concerns of fakery.
It looked like you were answering someone else's question instead of asking your own, except no one else had asked the question.

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 05-14-2012 at 07:20 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (05-14-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why can't you connect Ground/Neutral bus bars on a sub secutanudu Electrical 42 11-07-2012 01:33 PM
Need Neutral Connections - Installing Subpanel ctlu008 Electrical 10 01-01-2012 07:54 AM
upping neutral and ground conductors for multiple circuits crankcase Electrical 2 03-18-2011 12:37 PM
Electrical connections TazinCR Electrical 11 01-07-2009 07:10 PM
Suspected open/loose service neutral mrtomwj Electrical 5 09-28-2006 08:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.