Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-20-2014, 01:28 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Hillsboro, Oregon
Posts: 228
Rewards Points: 2
Share |
Default

NEMA 6-50 and 14-50 on same line


I am planning on installing a receptacle for a welder and was wondering if I could run 6-3 cable and have this line shared between the 6-50 receptacle and a 14-50.

Obviously, both receptacles couldn't be utilized for a full load at the same time.

sgip2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 01:59 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 790
Rewards Points: 4
Default

NEMA 6-50 and 14-50 on same line


Should be fine

Anti-wingnut is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Anti-wingnut For This Useful Post:
sgip2000 (08-20-2014)
Old 08-20-2014, 03:32 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 693
Rewards Points: 0
Default

NEMA 6-50 and 14-50 on same line


Quote:
Originally Posted by Anti-wingnut View Post
Should be fine
Giving permission?

http://www.grainger.com/product/1MN3...140820203532:s

Last edited by ritelec; 08-20-2014 at 03:36 PM.
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ritelec For This Useful Post:
sgip2000 (08-20-2014)
Old 08-20-2014, 03:42 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Hillsboro, Oregon
Posts: 228
Rewards Points: 2
Default

NEMA 6-50 and 14-50 on same line


Quote:
Originally Posted by ritelec View Post
When would a "safety switch" be necessary?
sgip2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 03:43 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Hillsboro, Oregon
Posts: 228
Rewards Points: 2
Default

NEMA 6-50 and 14-50 on same line


Quote:
Originally Posted by sgip2000 View Post
I am planning on installing a receptacle for a welder and was wondering if I could run 6-3 cable and have this line shared between the 6-50 receptacle and a 14-50.

Obviously, both receptacles couldn't be utilized for a full load at the same time.
I meant to ask if anyone sees any problems with this configuration.
sgip2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 03:52 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 790
Rewards Points: 4
Default

NEMA 6-50 and 14-50 on same line


Quote:
Originally Posted by ritelec View Post
What's your point?
Anti-wingnut is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Anti-wingnut For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (08-20-2014)
Old 08-20-2014, 04:09 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Rewards Points: 0
Default

NEMA 6-50 and 14-50 on same line


Quote:
Originally Posted by ritelec View Post
WHY in the world would that be necessary???
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
Stubbie (08-20-2014)
Old 08-20-2014, 04:14 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 790
Rewards Points: 4
Default

NEMA 6-50 and 14-50 on same line


It's just like putting two 15A outlets on a single circuit.

Anti-wingnut is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main Line Clog Master Brian Plumbing 46 09-06-2012 08:38 PM
Adding a second line to existing septic line Eddietan Plumbing 3 05-10-2012 09:27 AM
Old water supply line a_lost_shadow Plumbing 7 04-19-2012 11:12 PM
Condensate Drain Line Mystery (pan full but no primary clog?) CarrieLP HVAC 21 04-04-2012 11:07 PM
Capacity loss with line size Einride HVAC 1 06-29-2009 03:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.