Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-26-2011, 09:26 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

NEMA 14-50 line splitter


Does anybody know where I can find a NEMA 14-50 line splitter for current measurement purposes? Something like this: Amazon.com: AC Line Splitter: Home Improvement but for NEMA 14-50 plugs.

Thanks

resistor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 09:50 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

NEMA 14-50 line splitter


You'll have to make your own....

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 11:19 PM   #3
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,623
Rewards Points: 1,040
Default

NEMA 14-50 line splitter


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
You'll have to make your own....
Agree. Not all that hard to do though.
micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 03:59 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

NEMA 14-50 line splitter


Ok, does anybody have any tips on how to make one that would be safe to use? I'm a bit concerned because of the high voltages/current involved and I haven't really done anything like that.

Thanks

EDIT: Would getting something like this: http://cgi.ebay.com/1-New-50A-4-Wire...item1e64ddfb67 and wiring it to the inside of a NEMA 14-50 outlet (and then putting the clamp around the 250V wire) work?
Or what about getting an extension cord and cutting the outer layer a little bit to expose the individual wires and putting the clamp around the 250V wire there? Would that work?

Last edited by resistor; 07-27-2011 at 05:17 AM.
resistor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 07:05 AM   #5
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

NEMA 14-50 line splitter


Quote:
Originally Posted by resistor View Post
Or what about getting an extension cord and cutting the outer layer a little bit to expose the individual wires and putting the clamp around the 250V wire there? Would that work?
You will have trouble finding that 250 volt wire
Is this just a temporary hook-up so you can make the reading, if so, just make one up using an extension cord. You will need a 4 wire cord. Why do you need to do this?
Could you take the reading at the breaker panel?

Last edited by a7ecorsair; 07-27-2011 at 07:09 AM.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 10:16 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

NEMA 14-50 line splitter


I need to monitor it continuously for a few months and I do not have access to the breaker panel.
resistor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 11:50 AM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

NEMA 14-50 line splitter


Quote:
Originally Posted by resistor View Post
I need to monitor it continuously for a few months and I do not have access to the breaker panel.
What kind of equiment that need to be monitor and is this is a commercal location ?{ I will give a 50-50 chance on this } due you mention not able access to the breaker panel.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 11:55 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

NEMA 14-50 line splitter


It is an electric stove and no, it is in an apartment building but I still can't get access to the breaker panel.
resistor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 12:03 PM   #9
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

NEMA 14-50 line splitter


Humm ., instering .,,,

Anyway majorty of the electrique stove are useally not over 8 KW the most. { few do go more but it depending on the nameplate info stated }

The burners I know they will go about 2.5 KW max { few do go more but that for large size burner which they may hit at 3.0 KW }

But leave them on simmer they will draw about 150 to 300 watts depending on the element set up.

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tapping water line for new line KarlJay Plumbing 5 07-28-2010 09:30 AM
Natural gas line????? figs Plumbing 1 06-14-2009 01:13 PM
electric line and gas line couch potatoe Electrical 17 09-30-2008 10:43 PM
Condensate Line schott HVAC 17 06-02-2008 03:16 PM
Mutiple phone line needs an answering machine Densplace Electrical 5 04-04-2008 10:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.