Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-22-2013, 01:30 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

nema 10-30 to 14-30


I was moving an old nema 10-30 outlet and noticed it had a 4 wire cable with the bare ground cut off. The cable is 6/3 with ground. I measured less than 1 ohm between White and bare ground wires. The circuit is on 2 30-amp breakers in the panel.Can I just wire up a new 14-30 outlet using all wires?

unclemoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 12:46 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

nema 10-30 to 14-30


Quote:
Originally Posted by unclemoose View Post
I was moving an old nema 10-30 outlet and noticed it had a 4 wire cable with the bare ground cut off. The cable is 6/3 with ground. I measured less than 1 ohm between White and bare ground wires. The circuit is on 2 30-amp breakers in the panel.Can I just wire up a new 14-30 outlet using all wires?
Yes, BUT, #6 is a 75 amp gauge, and is overkill for a 30 amp circuit (should have been 10AWG), SO, what is this receptacle going to serve? This is important.

__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 09:49 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Default

nema 10-30 to 14-30


I was thinking I could run some light duty woodworking equipment - scroll saw, band saw, etc. My house was built in 1986 and the kitchen, dining room, basement, and part of the living room are all on one breaker. As I've acquired higher wattage kitchen appliances it's become apparent that some kind of electrical upgrade is in my future. So when I spotted this 220v outlet in the basement it seemed like a way to move away from using hand tools in the garage.
unclemoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 10:06 AM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,397
Default

nema 10-30 to 14-30


Does your area have any codes adopted? The way your house was wired did not meet the codes of that timeframe.

Has work been done in the panel? The circuits may have be improperly doubled up.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 10:45 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Default

nema 10-30 to 14-30


There is evidence that the bonehead I bought the house from, and original owner, did some, if not all of the electrical work. And carpentry, and concrete. I've come to realize just how incompetent he was in a number of areas.
unclemoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Custom PA system - Help needed with wiring adequate power, supplied by a generator psygnome Electrical 0 08-05-2012 06:36 PM
Nema 10-30 Trying to better understand poles Sesom Electrical 11 07-25-2012 11:14 AM
Changing a nema 5-15r into a nema 6-20r Sesom Electrical 12 07-22-2012 05:23 PM
NEMA 14 Generator to NEMA 6 pump wiring chatko Electrical 3 04-11-2012 05:33 AM
Need help wiring for Nema 10-30 LHD Electrical 8 12-03-2009 10:28 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.