Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-10-2012, 12:10 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Need to wire a subpanel to an existing panel 275 feet away


The panel is 200 amps. I have been doing lots of research and I would like to accomplish this project on my own. I do not have any training with electricity but I have been around it my whole life. So I have never taken any classes, not a class.

Has anyone ever completed a task similar to mine?

I have a fairly good idea of how I am goin to do it. The sun panel will be 30 amps. Could I run a quadroplex 8 gage for a 30 amp or should I use a 6 gage.

Ncs0816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 06:23 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,951
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Need to wire a subpanel to an existing panel 275 feet away


For a subpanel fed with 30 amps at 240 volts (using a 120/240 volt 3 wire feed plus ground), you would need #6 gauge wires. Using the chart in the National Electric Code the ground wire can be #10 (a 30 amp circuit) but I don't know how much you have to upsize that wire for the distance involved.

For the wire sizes we are dealing with (smaller than about 1/0) you may not double up wires (use say two #8 wires in the cable as a substitute for one #6 wire.)

You are allowed to run one feed between any two buildings. The most efficient way (in terms of minimum voltage drop) is to run it as a 240 volt circuit with a neutral to get 120 volts with.

In addition to the ground wire accompanying the feed, the subpanel in the separate building needs two 8' ground rods at least 6' apart.

The wires, if run underground even in a conduit, must be rated for wet areas. If not in a conduit they must be rated for direct burial.

Regardless of the supply voltage, the number of volts dropped along the way equals the number of amperes drawn at that moment times the resistance of the wires (round trip). Using the 240 volt circuit with neutral, if the 120 volt usage on one side is not equal to that on the other side, the side with the greater usage will experience a larger voltage drop. We want the reasonable worst case (the 120 volt usage will usually not be perfectly balanced) to be 4 percent or less at full load (here, 30 amps). The math is a little complicated becaus the neutral will carry the difference between the 120 volt usage on each side.

Not sure how deep you need to dig the trench (for undeground wiring). Same depth regardless of distance.

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 09-10-2012 at 07:02 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 06:42 AM   #3
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Need to wire a subpanel to an existing panel 275 feet away


If you will have lighter loads than 30a, #6cu/#4al, should be fine, if your load will be 30a, you might consider #4cu/#2al.
Lighter loads being just a few lights and hand tools.
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 04:49 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Need to wire a subpanel to an existing panel 275 feet away


I talked to my buddy and he said the burial cable needs to be at least 1 foot
Ncs0816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 05:19 PM   #5
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,040
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Need to wire a subpanel to an existing panel 275 feet away


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ncs0816 View Post
I talked to my buddy and he said the burial cable needs to be at least 1 foot
The direct burial quadplex needs to be buried 24".
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 06:46 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Need to wire a subpanel to an existing panel 275 feet away


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
The direct burial quadplex needs to be buried 24".
Thanks for catching that
Ncs0816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 06:47 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Need to wire a subpanel to an existing panel 275 feet away


The one thing I'm concerned about is my voltage drop. To run a wire over 250 I will be dropping a lot. Anyone ever do something like this?
Ncs0816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 08:33 PM   #8
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Need to wire a subpanel to an existing panel 275 feet away


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ncs0816 View Post
The one thing I'm concerned about is my voltage drop. To run a wire over 250 I will be dropping a lot. Anyone ever do something like this?
Yes, I just ran to a 60a sub-panel about 310ft away, didn't know what they were going to do, so I ran a wire good for 60a at 310ft, 2/0AL.

#4cu/#2al will give you 30a with approximately 3% voltage drop
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 10:30 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Need to wire a subpanel to an existing panel 275 feet away


The best advice I received was to run as big of a wire as you can afford.

brgmgb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50 Amps for a garage help IcyShadowz Electrical 48 05-31-2012 10:58 PM
Main Service Panel to 2 breaker panels - I can imagine you all rolling your eyes kalus Electrical 22 03-23-2012 02:09 AM
wiring subpanel wire too short kenmore Electrical 8 06-02-2011 03:34 PM
wiring from existing panel to new garage al99m Electrical 8 07-29-2009 08:42 PM
Ran a wire to an electrical panel for my first time Red Squirrel Electrical 17 07-19-2009 10:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.