Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-08-2007, 03:12 PM   #1
Bud
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need to wire my tablesaw


Hello All
I need a little help please.
I have a woodworking shop detached from my house.
I wired my shop from my main service panel for the house, which is 100 amp service. I have a 50 amp 220 breaker in the main panel that goes to my shop. I have a sub panel in the shop with curcuits for lighting, hand power tools etc.
I recently bought a new unisaw (tablesaw) which is 220 volt, 3 horse single phase. I have a 20 amp dbbl. breaker for 220, but not sure about how to wire the breaker. Heres what I think and tell me if I'm wrong!
I'm using 12-2 with ground to feed the 220 outlet for the saw. To wire the breaker, do I attach the Black to one leg of the Dbbl. breaker and the white to the other leg, and the ground wire to the ground bar?

Thanks for the help in advance, I hate anything I can't see, Electricity should have a form and color

Thanks, Bud

Bud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 04:04 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Need to wire my tablesaw


Bud,

Quote:
To wire the breaker, do I attach the Black to one leg of the Dbbl. breaker and the white to the other leg, and the ground wire to the ground bar?
Yes. And to be thorough, a ring of red electrical tape should be wrapped on the white wires at point of connection.

...Christopher

Christopher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 02:57 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need to wire my tablesaw


I would sure love a lot more info on the size house, appliances gas or electric and shop use you have. Sounds to me like you could be getting way undersized in many areas. Have a demand factor calculation done... Your saw alone could draw 17+ amps depending on np of course. Lights/heaters/etc just in shop could ramp it up fast. I had to add separate service to my shop because of demand and my House has 200 amp service. Just by single motor and nameplate you are using almost 25% of your total capacity to the house... Whats the distance between buildings? What is the service entrance and panel feed size?

Just curious
terrynistler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 10:54 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Need to wire my tablesaw


I was just looking at new table saws and was looking at a 5hp or 3hp 230V saw- in talking with them about wiring - the 3hp requires a 30 amp breaker and thus needs 10guage wire- not the 12 like I have - also the 5hp requires a 40amp breaker and thus I assume needs no.8 wire - so are you sure the one you looked at only needs a 20amp circuit? my question is- I have some no.8 wire- and I was going to pull it for this application but is it ok- if I end up with the 30AMP saw and not the 40? - i.e is it ok if the wire guage is 1 size too big? thanks
scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 03:47 PM   #5
Handyguy
 
Brik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SE PA
Posts: 803
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via Skype™ to Brik
Default

Need to wire my tablesaw


Too big of wire is fine. Putting the #8 wire you have on a 30A breaker to support your saw will be just dandy. It will also let you upgrade that Uni to the 5HP with only a breaker change! Now, you NEVER want to do the reverse. (Putting small wire on larger breaker)
Brik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 03:48 PM   #6
Handyguy
 
Brik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SE PA
Posts: 803
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via Skype™ to Brik
Default

Need to wire my tablesaw


Also, check out woodnet. Great woodworking resource and lots of unisaw guys there.

Brik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which low voltage wire scozzer Electrical 2 02-18-2007 10:56 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM
ok to leave chandelier third wire unconnected? gonzales9 Electrical 5 01-12-2006 08:10 PM
Does a 6 x 12ga wire nut exist? peeks Electrical 1 10-02-2005 09:58 AM
wire size wire to 10kw furnace? lochcarron Electrical 1 04-10-2005 07:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.