Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-23-2011, 12:36 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 17
Share |
Unhappy

Need to upgrade from 100 amp to a 200 amp main breaker


have a breaker box with :
120 amp max main breaker
120/240 vac 3wire ,single phase
208y/120 vac 3wire ,single phase
wanna go with a :
200 amp or more main breaker

hole issue is i need more power cuase im running an office of 3-8 computers and kitchen with 220 stove 120 fridge 120 dishwasher. dated 2006 or higher 120 microwave dinning room 120 chest freezer bathroom 220 dryer 120 washer 3-5 tv's office supports a 1000 watts surround sound had to plug a 15 amp 1500 watt extension cord from dinning room to it becuase the surrround sound wasnt getting enough power to sound right when it was used


Last edited by unknowing; 03-23-2011 at 02:50 PM.
unknowing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 12:50 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 951
Default

Need to upgrade from 100 amp to a 200 amp main breaker


Unless you're running all that stuff at once I don't see why you need more than the 120 amps you have... If you buy a Kill-a-watt device you'll find that audio, video, and computer products never draw nearly as much power as they're rated for. I think my Dell, with it's 400 watt power supply, along with the monitor, draws 50 or 60 watts.

Maybe what you need to do is run a new circuit to the theater system.

Anyway, if you do need to upgrade your panel, here's the basics:

You get the power disconnected at the pole and get the permit.

You get new supply lines if yours aren't big enough (probably not).

You get a new meter base if yours isn't modern (needs a grounding lug).

You get a new load center.

You pull out all the breakers, and carefully remove the wires from the old load center. You replace the supply lines and/or meter base if necessary. You put in the new load center and replace breakers and wires.

The new load center may have terminals in different locations, which might require new supply lines between it and the meter base.

Mine cost about $600 in parts. I didn't do it myself, but I assisted in various ways.

pyper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 12:50 PM   #3
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

Need to upgrade from 100 amp to a 200 amp main breaker


What is your question? if this is a commercial space this most likely needs to be done by a licensed electrician.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 02:51 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 17
Default

Need to upgrade from 100 amp to a 200 amp main breaker


220 dryer and 220 stove
was a typo
unknowing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 02:53 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 17
Default

Need to upgrade from 100 amp to a 200 amp main breaker


sometimes i run all 4 washer dryer stove and dish washer at once when im cleaning computers stay on tv is off and on
unknowing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 02:55 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 17
Default

Need to upgrade from 100 amp to a 200 amp main breaker


have a electronic meter not dial meter so i dont know if that can say anything
unknowing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 02:57 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 17
Default

Need to upgrade from 100 amp to a 200 amp main breaker


and my compters are built by me range from 300 watts Psu's to 1400 watt psu's
unknowing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 03:01 PM   #8
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

Need to upgrade from 100 amp to a 200 amp main breaker


Have you had problems with your main breaker tripping?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 03:04 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 17
Default

Need to upgrade from 100 amp to a 200 amp main breaker


yea lots of surges main breaker no but the secondary breakers yea alot
house was wired wierd when i moved in its not at all light breakers on plug breakers its so insanely crazy so thats why i was thinking of doing this
unknowing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 03:07 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 17
Default

Need to upgrade from 100 amp to a 200 amp main breaker


its one of them old house that was built years and years ago but electric has had some work 3 years ago when i moved in but i dont like having 100 amp main its just low i dont like having issue's like this
unknowing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 03:10 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 17
Default

Need to upgrade from 100 amp to a 200 amp main breaker


when i moved in this house all it mostly had before was a water heater and had a 220 plug were my living room is now had a stove and thats it
unknowing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 03:19 PM   #12
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

Need to upgrade from 100 amp to a 200 amp main breaker


So the real problem is the individual circuits are not sized properly for their intended loads.
You cannot just change the main breaker to 200 amps. That won't give you 200 amp service. Read back through post #2. It lays out what is required for a service upgrade.
One thing you could do is find out from your power company what size service the existing wire will support.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 03:20 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 17
Default

Need to upgrade from 100 amp to a 200 amp main breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
So the real problem is the individual circuits are not sized properly for their intended loads.
You cannot just change the main breaker to 200 amps. That won't give you 200 amp service. Read back through post #2. It lays out what is required for a service upgrade.
One thing you could do is find out from your power company what size service the existing wire will support.
reason why i came to this site idk nothing in electrical .... computers is my thing
unknowing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 03:21 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 951
Default

Need to upgrade from 100 amp to a 200 amp main breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by unknowing View Post
and my compters are built by me range from 300 watts Psu's to 1400 watt psu's

That's the maximum they can potentially draw, not what they actually do.

If you get something like the following, you can plug it in and find out how much they actually are drawing:
http://www.killawattplus.com/?gclid=...FUta2god9GU0Tg

The oven cycles on and off. The DW doesn't use enough to count. The washer probably doesn't use much either, except maybe on spin.

Like I said before, it sounds like you just need a new circuit. Are your outlets grounded? One of these will tell you:

http://www.google.com/products/catal...d=0CCkQ8gIwAQ#

Electronics need real grounds to work

Last edited by pyper; 03-23-2011 at 03:23 PM.
pyper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 03:23 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 17
Default

Need to upgrade from 100 amp to a 200 amp main breaker


so im guesing your saying its not the main breaker its the pole to the house power and the secondary breakers are not set right in the case of how it needs to be wired

unknowing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main Breaker Melting rubberhead Off Topic 8 03-16-2011 07:50 PM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
Murray main lug center - what type of tandem breaker? cl or ncl? plove79 Electrical 4 09-01-2010 08:08 PM
Changing breaker in box with no main breaker jrucker Electrical 3 02-16-2010 12:46 PM
Main disconnect breaker coyote556 Electrical 9 08-01-2007 04:52 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.