Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-29-2009, 01:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

need to split swith controlled outlet


I have an outlet that both receptacles are controlled by the same switch. I need to change it so that one is switch controlled and the other is always hot.

Thanks!

Nancy

summertimefa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 01:20 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

need to split swith controlled outlet


It's probably not going to happen.

You need to take off the cover plate and unscrew the recep to see how many and what kind (colors) of wiring is in the box.

Turn off the power first

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 01:32 PM   #3
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Default

need to split swith controlled outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by summertimefa View Post
I have an outlet that both receptacles are controlled by the same switch. I need to change it so that one is switch controlled and the other is always hot.

Thanks!

Nancy
Open up the outlet and let us know what you have for wires
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 01:49 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Default

need to split swith controlled outlet


The outlet has one white wire (left) and one black wire (right) going into the center of the back of the outlet. (and one copper ground wire going into the bottom of the back of the outlet).
summertimefa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 02:08 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

need to split swith controlled outlet


To make this recep 1/2 switched, you would need to run a new cable from somewhere like the switch or a close by recep.

Look on the other side of the wall and see if there is a recep close.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 02:09 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,688
Default

need to split swith controlled outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by summertimefa View Post
The outlet has one white wire (left) and one black wire (right) going into the center of the back of the outlet. (and one copper ground wire going into the bottom of the back of the outlet).
You can not split this receptacle with the wires you have now.
You would need an extra wire.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 02:17 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Default

need to split swith controlled outlet


The switch (and a second outlet) are about 4' away, above and to the left.
summertimefa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 02:26 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

need to split swith controlled outlet


How are you drywall patching skills?

You need to get a cable, sized the same as the existing, from the other recep to the one you want 1/2 switched.

You will need to cross at least two vertical studs to get there, or go up and over, thru the attic.

This is an easy DIY project ONLY if the walls were open.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 02:51 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Default

need to split swith controlled outlet


My drywall skills are fine..... bigger headache is an ornate tile back splash on the switch side (and a window between the attic and the target outlet). I really don't want to tear into the tile. Would have been way too simple for this to be just a move a wire motion, but I do have another outlet that can be used. Thank you so much for the simple answer I was looking for!
summertimefa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 07:14 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,688
Default

need to split swith controlled outlet


You can do the same thing by going into the basement or crawl space.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help with wiring ceiling fan from a switch controlled outlet teamster807 Electrical 39 10-27-2011 04:09 PM
Electrical outlet controlled by a wall switch? rinlo Electrical 14 12-28-2008 10:30 PM
Help with outlet controlled by switch craigpall Electrical 2 05-18-2008 08:08 AM
Define Split Outlet And Why Needed In Kitchen bobo Electrical 6 10-18-2005 10:35 AM
Outlet controlled by switch Shardi Electrical 4 10-09-2005 06:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.