Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-02-2008, 02:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

need proper breaker


I just got rejected on my final electrical inspection for having a Square D breaker in and Arrow Hart panel. I was never able to find any Arrow Hart breakers. The other breakers i didn't get hit on were the double breakers and i couldn't find a 20A single breaker of the same type. Can anyone help as to what brand of breaker I can use here and where to find one.

johndeere214 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 02:25 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

need proper breaker


Is a Murray breaker suitable in this panel?

wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 02:37 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 0
Default

need proper breaker


Seimans/Murray = Arrow Hart
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 08:21 AM   #4
Once fried, twice shy.
 
elkangorito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Thailand
Posts: 251
Rewards Points: 0
Default

need proper breaker


Does this have something to do with "standards"? Why wouldn't a Square-D breaker be acceptable in this panel? Forgive my Australian naivety but all circuit breakers in Australia MUST fit into domestic switchboards. There are no "ifs or buts" with this. If you went to an Australian electrical wholesaler (or a retail store) & purchased circuit breakers along with an appropriate switchboard, the breakers WILL fit into the switchboard.

This rule, however, does not apply to switchboards that are 20 years old or older. DIN circuit breakers will not fit into "some" older switchboards.

Someone please enlighten me. Why is there a problem with circuit breakers & switchboards in the USA?
__________________
Switchboard design engineer & Licensed Electrician (Australia).
elkangorito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 11:14 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,795
Rewards Points: 22
Default

need proper breaker


Not all breakers are listed to fit all panelboards. It comes down to some testing agency that sated that x breaker is ok to use in x, y, or z panel. If it is not on that list, it cannot be used in that panelboard.
Hope that makes sense to you.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 05:55 AM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 08:59 PM
Problem with circuit breaker. HELP! spartanic Electrical 2 10-28-2007 03:09 PM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 05:44 PM
Breaker Buzz SkipI Electrical 2 07-13-2007 07:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.