Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-13-2013, 11:04 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 109
Share |
Default

Need power strip where outlets are "sideways"


I'm mounting a strip at a closet shelf and need one that has the receptacles oriented against the long axis of the strip.

It only takes one big transformer to crowd over another receptacle and waste a slot.

I need at least a 6-outlet strip. I see monster makes one but it's not as wide as I need. Also, it should be a single row--small space constraints.

Thoughts?


Last edited by Dornier; 01-13-2013 at 11:11 AM.
Dornier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 11:21 AM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

Need power strip where outlets are "sideways"


My thought is that I don't like outlets in closets to begin with, so an outlet in a closet and a power strip doesn't sound like a good idea to me. JMO

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 11:29 AM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Default

Need power strip where outlets are "sideways"


Just shop around. There are TONS of different kind of power strips out there.
Try www.cyberguys.com

I will say, I agree with Kbuz on this one. A power strip in a closet sounds like a bad idea.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 11:37 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 109
Default

Need power strip where outlets are "sideways"


Thoughts on an alternative? I'm not against putting in an AFCI, but I need 5 or so plugs. It's not a walk-in--just a shallow closet under the stairs. There are no garments above or below. It would be about 5' above the floor.

Last edited by Dornier; 01-13-2013 at 11:54 AM.
Dornier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 12:28 PM   #5
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,235
Default

Need power strip where outlets are "sideways"


Are you by any chance making this a 'data center'? Wireless router, etc?

If so....why not a small UPS? It has outlets on it....and you would have backup power in case of a brown out or power failure.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 01:21 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: new mexico
Posts: 344
Default

Need power strip where outlets are "sideways"


http://www.amazon.com/1-Foot-Extensi...octopus+outlet

http://www.amazon.com/Accell-D080B-0...octopus+outlet
redman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 01:23 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 109
Default

Need power strip where outlets are "sideways"


No it's just a shelf to charge an iPad, leapster pad, some walkie talkies, and a camera.
Dornier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 02:38 PM   #8
Member
 
seansy59's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NJ, US
Posts: 292
Default

Need power strip where outlets are "sideways"


I have 5 of these.....they work great.


http://www.amazon.com/Tripp-Lite-PS2...trip+workbench

seansy59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI outlets lose power, and then get it back kutsyy Electrical 12 02-13-2011 10:38 AM
No power to 2 outlets Partsman41953 Electrical 1 02-07-2011 06:52 AM
Electrical Outlets with Very Low Power goph27 Electrical 6 01-28-2011 08:26 AM
Electrical - Outlets with no power jogan Electrical 5 05-05-2009 02:06 PM
Fuse OK! No power to outlets... henry199 Electrical 9 12-25-2008 08:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.