Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-16-2009, 08:55 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need new light in garage


I would like to install a new light fixture on the same string as an already switched light. When I tapped into the middle of that 2 wire romex with a junction box and hung my fixture the fixture didnt work and worse yet the existing light further down stream stayed on regardless of switch position.
service comes to the existing light first... then to the switch at the END of the circuit, at the light the hot changes from black to white and then goes past my intended new light then on to the switch.
How can I get them both on the same switch?

ryanuni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 09:18 AM   #2
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Need new light in garage


Can you give a better description of what the wiring looked like in each box (switch and fixture) before you changed anything?

It sounds to me like you have:

In the fixture box:
House power romex (black and white) coming in
Romex (Black and white) going to the switch box
Two blacks are tied together
White from house power romex is tied to fixture's white
The white going to the switch is hooked to the fixture's black (this wire should be re-marked as black with tape)

In the switch box, black and white are tied to the switch. (this white should be re-marked black as well).

Is that right?

__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 09:42 AM   #3
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Need new light in garage


You tapped into the switch leg... that won't work (as you have noticed) because there is no neutral.... the switch leg contains only a constant hot (remarked white) and a switched hot (black). To add another light, you will have to run new **/2 cable from the existing light to the new light.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 10:16 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need new light in garage


It sounds like you both have a proper grasp of the situation, and confirmed what I feared... more work

If I run new 12/2 from the existing light to my new switch will it also be switched with the existing switch? If so what do I connect my new romex to to make this happen? (secutanudu's description of the situation is correct)
Thanks for the help!

Last edited by ryanuni; 12-16-2009 at 10:20 AM.
ryanuni is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage Insulation DIYguy2000 Building & Construction 2 12-09-2009 07:41 AM
Mold in detached garage jkrodger Building & Construction 15 05-01-2009 01:46 PM
Light Switch to Detached Garage - Grounding Issue smitty286 Electrical 1 10-22-2008 12:17 PM
Pilot light button on furnace won't turn whydonchathen HVAC 5 10-05-2008 11:03 PM
garage door open light deck hand Electrical 3 01-22-2008 08:29 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.