Need To Move Existing Light. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2005, 02:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

need to move existing light.


need to move existing light.
I need to move an existing light fixture in a bathroom. It need's to be moved about 2 feet. It will remain on the same wall that it is attached to. I have a good idea on how to do it, but not sure if it is the correct way, that's why I am here. Can I just leave the existing box and wire nut the extra wire that I need to make up the 2 feet. I am just concerned about covering up the wall where I would make the splice. I would like to do this the correct way. Thanks a lot. Happy New Year

Advertisement

surfsupinhawaii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2005, 03:25 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,955
Rewards Points: 2,306
Default

need to move existing light.


you can leave the exsisting box, but it must remain assessable. You can put a cover over the box and paint to match the wall. If you do not want the box showing, then the only way is remove the wire back to the switch and replace.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2005, 08:01 PM   #3
I'm just stirring the:
 
CGofMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 75
Default

need to move existing light.


JB - would accessible count if it were accessible via a crawlspace like in the attic? Or must it be from within the dwelling?
CGofMP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2005, 10:11 PM   #4
World famous jerk.
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: central PA
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 250
Default

need to move existing light.


Quote:
Originally Posted by CGofMP
JB - would accessible count if it were accessible via a crawlspace like in the attic? Or must it be from within the dwelling?
If you can get the end of the wire up into an attic, or down into a crawl space, that's fine. Accessible is the only requirement. "Readily Accessible" is not the requirement. Assessible doesn't even necessarily even mean "easy". As long as you can get to it without damaging the building (such as you would have to do if you buried it behind sheetrock), you're compliant. Here's the definition straight out of the code:

"Accessible (as applied to wiring methods). Capable of
being removed or exposed without damaging the building
structure or finish or not permanently closed in by the
structure or finish of the building."
mdshunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 12:56 AM   #5
I'm just stirring the:
 
CGofMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 75
Default

need to move existing light.


Quote:
mdshunk
World famous jerk.
Okay MD... whats the story with yer new tag line :-)
CGofMP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 04:22 AM   #6
World famous jerk.
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: central PA
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 250
Default

need to move existing light.


Quote:
Originally Posted by CGofMP
Okay MD... whats the story with yer new tag line :-)
I generally work 12 hour days. I relax and unwind answering forum site questions. Sometimes I'm testy with people in the process because I'm tired. I figured that if I state ahead of time that I'm a jerk, all the cards would be on the table.
mdshunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 09:54 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 253
Rewards Points: 250
Default

need to move existing light.


Well MD, I've been snooping around some other sites and I pretty certain we all appreciate the time you spend sharing information. I personally would never call you "World Famous":D . You'll probably get bored with us someday but until then, Thanks. HS.

Advertisement

K2eoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to replace wall mounted light fixture jtm2300 Electrical 4 08-03-2007 10:44 PM
Part of a ceiling fan light fixture needs help...please g5729 Electrical 1 06-17-2007 07:22 AM
add a second light to an existing 3 way switch circuit djohns10 Electrical 6 03-02-2007 08:16 PM
Hot Light Outlets Materials Guru Electrical 5 07-31-2006 08:11 PM
Replacing light killed downstream outlets, totally stuck amissner Electrical 5 07-13-2006 07:02 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts