Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-12-2012, 08:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need more breakers but panel is full


I have a square D QO load panel 200 amp the cover states it cat. No. QOC20U . My problem is all 20 slots are being used and already have piggyback breakers in, I need more slots for add. Breakers. I was wondering if it's possible to change the guts in this panel (that would add slots) or do I need to upgrade the whole panel

Barry1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 09:00 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,860
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

Need more breakers but panel is full


Run a subpanel.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 09:05 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need more breakers but panel is full


Is that the only option, I'd rather have only one breaker panel
Barry1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 09:07 PM   #4
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,911
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Need more breakers but panel is full


Buy a 200a 30sp pace QO panel and reuse some of your breakers
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to plummen For This Useful Post:
Barry1 (02-12-2012)
Old 02-12-2012, 09:10 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,285
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

Need more breakers but panel is full


It is the easiest option. BTW QOC20U is the part number of the cover, not the actual panel. Can you post a picture of the panel with the door open, and also look behind the panel cover for the actual part# of it.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 09:17 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need more breakers but panel is full


So I will be able to use exsisting panel?
Barry1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 09:20 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,285
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

Need more breakers but panel is full


Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry1 View Post
So I will be able to use exsisting panel?
Is there an echo in here? Yes, if you add a sub-panel. Otherwise, go out and get a larger panel and hire a company to replace the existing, or better yet, let them do it. Reason being, if you have to replace the panel if you do not want a sub-panel, the meter has to be pulled, if the existing panel you have is the main means of disconnect for the incoming feed from the power company (POCO).
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
Barry1 (02-12-2012)
Old 02-12-2012, 09:21 PM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,697
Rewards Points: 2,192
Default

Need more breakers but panel is full


The entire panel will get changed out.

BTW, I would install the 200 amp 40 circuit and skip the 30 circuit.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
Barry1 (02-12-2012), plummen (02-12-2012)
Old 02-12-2012, 09:24 PM   #9
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,911
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Need more breakers but panel is full


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
The entire panel will get changed out.

BTW, I would install the 200 amp 40 circuit and skip the 30 circuit.
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 09:29 PM   #10
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,697
Rewards Points: 2,192
Default

Need more breakers but panel is full


There is nothing wrong with the 30. i just like to leave room for additions at a later time. It would depend on how many circuits the OP needs to add.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 09:39 PM   #11
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,911
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Need more breakers but panel is full


I feel the same way but most people think im nuts when they see the 200a 40sp homeline panel in this house with a dozen empty spaces,I try and be optimistic and tell them the basement still isnt done and Ive got dreams of another garage before i die!
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 01:53 AM   #12
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Need more breakers but panel is full


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen
I feel the same way but most people think im nuts when they see the 200a 40sp homeline panel in this house with a dozen empty spaces,I try and be optimistic and tell them the basement still isnt done and Ive got dreams of another garage before i die!
My house will have a 40/60. I always love pulling new lines for stuff.
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 10:27 AM   #13
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,911
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Need more breakers but panel is full


You just like pulling wires in!

__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bull Dog Pushmatic Electrical panel and Circuit Breakers highdeserthome Electrical 34 01-27-2012 01:06 PM
Add Breakers to Existing Panel? BusyPete Electrical 8 01-22-2012 09:34 AM
125 amp rated breaker panel yet I have 155 amps worth of breakers??? graysqwrl Electrical 3 08-28-2011 02:25 PM
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 10:39 PM
100A Panel is full...I Need more circuits redly Electrical 2 06-20-2005 06:26 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.