Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-22-2011, 09:54 PM   #16
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Share |
Default

Need to match breaker size to oven amps?


Most Americian and European double oven { wall verison } useally take 30 or 40 amp breaker but few case super top of line it will take 50 { not very often but veirfy with nameplate }

But Stubbie and KBsparky did hit on the nail right on the spot and I have done the same thing as well that one of very limited rules I can use that but it have restriction in there and both Stubbie and KB address it pretty clear on it { it have to be part of Applanice whip not the feild connections items }

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 10:37 PM   #17
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Need to match breaker size to oven amps?


Looking at the installation instructions for your model on the GE web site the power requirements show 240 volts at 7200 watts 30 amp branch circuit.

However the installation instructions say the oven comes 4 wire and requires a neutral , showing an appliance whip with red, white, black and green ground.

Do you have four wires in the existing branch circuit to connect the oven 4 wire power cord?
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 07:21 AM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 25
Default

Need to match breaker size to oven amps?


Yes I do have the 4 wires you have mentioned so it looks like the connections should be pretty straight forward.

Thanks you all for all your advice and effort on this.
dbrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Breaker size for subpanel WillK Electrical 10 12-15-2010 07:45 PM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
need help getting right size breaker and wire for tig welder jss12 Electrical 11 10-18-2010 02:49 PM
What size breaker? mopowers Electrical 14 08-17-2009 11:47 PM
wire feed size for dble oven setup ? ? ? yes.itsconcrete Electrical 29 09-12-2008 09:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.