Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-23-2008, 08:18 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 805
Share |
Default

Need longer reach 'old' work boxes


Trying to straighten out my no outlet OLD house. It has plaster and lath walls with drywall over top of that. my wall varys some from 1 1/4" to a full 1 1/2" thick. The only boxes at Menards and other like stores here is about 1" max. reach to clamp those ears on the back of the wall. Guy sold me some longer screws,,,THAT didnt work cause they were different thread pitch and couldnt turn screws.

How do YOU fix this??
4just1don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2008, 05:07 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,028
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Need longer reach 'old' work boxes


You could try metal old work boxes with "F" straps, some people call them madison straps.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2008, 06:47 AM   #3
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,506
Default

Need longer reach 'old' work boxes


With walls 1 1/2" thick, I don't thing the "F" straps will work. Try boxes with integral screws that can attach to studs. Smart Box is one type, Arlington Industries makes another.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2008, 06:51 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,028
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Need longer reach 'old' work boxes


I have some that are 3" long, when I use them on a standard wall I have to cut them or they go down the side and around the back of the box.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2008, 07:29 AM   #5
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,506
Default

Need longer reach 'old' work boxes


Quote:
Originally Posted by wirenut1110 View Post
I have some that are 3" long, when I use them on a standard wall I have to cut them or they go down the side and around the back of the box.
In that case, I stand corrected.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boxes recessed too deep rondo Electrical 10 12-01-2012 06:46 PM
Gangable old work boxes kornbln Electrical 2 05-27-2008 05:50 AM
electric outlets no longer work movistar Electrical 5 04-24-2008 12:27 PM
HVAC contractor ripoff! sekntonone HVAC 8 04-05-2008 07:15 AM
Work boxes? sandyman720 Electrical 5 06-01-2007 02:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.