Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-15-2010, 08:35 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: california
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

need to know what size sub panel to get


i have a 225v main panel and i want to run a sub panel for 13 30amp breakers what size sub panel should i get its for lights that draw 7.5 amps and have 1000w bulbs total of 39 lights the lights are 220v


Last edited by italy92530; 01-15-2010 at 08:51 PM. Reason: title
italy92530 is offline  
Old 01-15-2010, 08:46 PM   #2
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Default

need to know what size sub panel to get


Do you mean 225 Amp. panel? What kind of operation are you going to be using?How many lights on each circuit?

codeone is offline  
Old 01-15-2010, 08:53 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: california
Posts: 9
Default

need to know what size sub panel to get


i have a 225v main panel and i want to run a sub panel for 13 30amp breakers what size sub panel should i get its for lights that draw 7.5 amps and have 1000w bulbs total of 39 lights the lights are 220v
italy92530 is offline  
Old 01-15-2010, 09:01 PM   #4
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Default

need to know what size sub panel to get


What is the Amperage of your main panel? Why do you need the 13- 30 amp breakers. Are these mogle base lights. how many per circuit?

Your total bulbs 39 x 1000 = 39000 divide by 240v = 162.5 Amps

Last edited by codeone; 01-15-2010 at 09:08 PM.
codeone is offline  
Old 01-15-2010, 09:03 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: california
Posts: 9
Default

need to know what size sub panel to get


225 with transformer 112kv
italy92530 is offline  
Old 01-15-2010, 09:03 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Default

need to know what size sub panel to get


The numbers and information you have provided is not clear. Please elaborate and provide additional information.
vsheetz is offline  
Old 01-15-2010, 09:04 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homestead,Pa
Posts: 109
Default

need to know what size sub panel to get


Quote:
Originally Posted by italy92530 View Post
i have a 225v main panel and i want to run a sub panel for 13 30amp breakers what size sub panel should i get its for lights that draw 7.5 amps and have 1000w bulbs total of 39 lights the lights are 220v
Is this a home? Do you mean you have a 225amp main?
Paelectrican is offline  
Old 01-15-2010, 09:07 PM   #8
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,981
Default

need to know what size sub panel to get


Is this stage lighting?
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline  
Old 01-15-2010, 09:07 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: california
Posts: 9
Default

need to know what size sub panel to get


its a commercial building with a 800amp switch gear with a 112kv transformer and i want to run a sub panel for lights in a room that draw 7.5 amps and have 1000w bulbs total of 39 lights the lights are 220v what size sub panel can i put in the room

Last edited by italy92530; 01-15-2010 at 09:17 PM.
italy92530 is offline  
Old 01-15-2010, 09:08 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

need to know what size sub panel to get


If they draw 7.5a @240v & you have 39 lights

Bare Min = 7.5a x 39 = 292.5a

So...... ?

Commercial is different rating...so you need more
Scuba_Dave is offline  
Old 01-15-2010, 09:12 PM   #11
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Default

need to know what size sub panel to get


Quote:
Originally Posted by italy92530 View Post
its a commercial building with a 800amp switch gear. i have a 225amp main panel and i want to run a sub panel for 13 30amp breakers what size sub panel should i get its for lights that draw 7.5 amps and have 1000w bulbs total of 39 lights the lights are 220v
Why do you not have a liscened electrician working on this?
codeone is offline  
Old 01-15-2010, 09:18 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: california
Posts: 9
Default

need to know what size sub panel to get


its a commercial building with a 800amp switch gear with a 112kv transformer and i want to run a sub panel for lights in a room that draw 7.5 amps and have 1000w bulbs total of 39 lights the lights are 220v what size sub panel can i put in the room
italy92530 is offline  
Old 01-15-2010, 09:21 PM   #13
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

need to know what size sub panel to get


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Is this stage lighting?
I would suspect he has a business in his home and is hoping to grow the business. You need to make it light like daylight so as to be able to see what you are doing.

and yes, if this is for a business, California most likely requires a licensed electrician to do the work.
nap is offline  
Old 01-15-2010, 09:28 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homestead,Pa
Posts: 109
Default

need to know what size sub panel to get


Quote:
Originally Posted by italy92530 View Post
its a commercial building with a 800amp switch gear with a 112kv transformer and i want to run a sub panel for lights in a room that draw 7.5 amps and have 1000w bulbs total of 39 lights the lights are 220v what size sub panel can i put in the room
I would suggest you contact a licensed electrician. This is a big job for someone untrained to take on, and believe your state would require you to have one for this application.
Paelectrican is offline  
Old 01-15-2010, 09:36 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: california
Posts: 9
Default

need to know what size sub panel to get


so no body knows?

italy92530 is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
house power supply upgrade in Australia pcd1965 Electrical 3 08-22-2009 08:17 PM
400 Amp Upgrade / Transfer Switch AndrewF Electrical 50 07-04-2009 07:33 PM
Can I upgrade my main panel? MarkinTexas Electrical 8 01-22-2009 10:15 AM
Upgrade Meter Box Help BenJoeM Electrical 10 10-24-2008 10:58 AM
Service upgrade rondo Electrical 1 05-21-2007 06:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.