Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-11-2009, 08:05 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 12
Share |
Default

Need to install a sub-panel in the garage


Need to install a sub-panel in the garage and I would like to know what conduit to use from the house to garage that can be buried?
That gray pvc or flexable liquid tight? Whats legal in Ca?

Thanks

serrano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 08:23 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,682
Default

Need to install a sub-panel in the garage


Need much more info than that!

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 08:50 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 12
Default

Need to install a sub-panel in the garage


Ok, lets start here.....

It's a house build in 1957-single story-raised foundation with a 200 amp panel in the laundry room. All the walls are down to stud for easy access.
We have a friend that said he could install a 100amp panel in the garage but I'd like to know what the correct way to get from A-B would be when going underground?

Need more info?
Thanks.
serrano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 10:48 PM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,871
Default

Need to install a sub-panel in the garage


Schedule 40 gray PVC 18" deep under ground. Schedule 80 while above ground going to the panels. You need to run 4 wires 2 hots, one neutral and a ground. You need a single throw main disconnect at the detached garage. For 100 amps not considering any long distances panel to panel for voltage drop you need #3 copper or #1 aluminum for the hots and neutral and a # 8 copper or # 6 aluminum for equipment ground. the 100 amp disconnect or 100 amp main breaker panel must be located at the point of entrance of the feeder to the detached garage either outside (3r enclosure) or inside. Make it look like this with neutral an ground electrically isolated. You may need to purchase a ground bar kit to do this depending on the panel but neutrals and equipment grounds will not be on the same bar and you will not install the main bonding jumper. You will also need a ground rod and grounding clamp with the grounding conductor connected to the sub-panel ground bar.

Make it look like this......this diagramis a guide.. it is not intended to be a substitute for electrical knowledge and common sense.
Attached Thumbnails
Need to install a sub-panel in the garage-4-wire-subpanel-detached.jpg  
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Garage Wiring issues jimmyfloyd Electrical 20 06-08-2009 02:57 PM
Sub Panel SoxFan Electrical 2 12-02-2008 10:16 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM
Help with electrical sub panel chrismc77 Electrical 6 08-12-2007 02:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.