Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-07-2009, 10:59 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 'burbs of Detroit, MI
Posts: 465
Share |
Default

Need help wiring a new temporary service pole


Vacant lot with no service yet; I'm putting in a 6"x8" post as required for a temp pole for local outlet usage. Power Co. said all I needed was a pole with a meter can and disconnect but when I spoke to the permit office this morning and they faxed me a nearly unreadable diagram of what they want to see to approve it, from a service head all the way down to the grounding rods. I have a few questions:

1. What is an acceptable "service head" on a temp pole? I assume this is easier to put on before the pole goes up!
2. Does wire from the service head to the meter can need to be in conduit?
3. Is 6ga wire appropriate? (this will be either 60 or 100amp disconnect)
4. Diagram says 2 grounding rods >6' apart, how and where should I split them, or should I have 2 grounds coming from the disconnect?

Thanks all!

moneymgmt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 02:57 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Need help wiring a new temporary service pole


Assuming it's an overhead service, install a service entrance cap and an eye bolt at the top of the pole or at the required height.
Run SE cable from the SE cap(or use conduit with a weatherhead and separate conductors) to the top of the meter base, out of the meter to your disconnect. Leave 2-3' of free conductor out of the weatherhead or cap for the POCO connection.

Install 1 rod at the base of the pole and another at least 6' away from that one. Run a #6 bare copper from the panel neutral or ground bar continuously to both rods. Insert the bonding screw/strap in the panel.

The smallest service we can have here is 100 amps. We put at least one GFI receptacle at the pole.

This can be prefabbed on the ground then stuck in the hole and filled in.

wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 07:49 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 'burbs of Detroit, MI
Posts: 465
Default

Need help wiring a new temporary service pole


Thanks wirenut! Yes it is overhead service; couple follow-up questions:

Quote:
Originally Posted by wirenut1110 View Post
install a service entrance cap and an eye bolt at the top of the pole or at the required height..... or use conduit with a weatherhead and separate conductors
What is the difference between an entrance cap and a weatherhead? If I use the entrance cap, where does the eye bolt come in?

On the ground wire, I'm running one wire from the panel to a rod at the base of the pole, and then 6' further to a second rod, correct? Should the 6' be buried to a certain depth?

Thank you!
moneymgmt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 08:16 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,782
Default

Need help wiring a new temporary service pole


Weatherhead, entrance cap are the same.
The eyebolt is used by the poco to attach the wires from the transformer to the pole.
The wrie from rod to rod can be scratched underneath the grass.

You can find a temp panel at HD or Lowes.
Comes with a meter base, and a couple of gfci circuits.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"

Last edited by jbfan; 10-08-2009 at 11:16 AM. Reason: spelling
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 09:02 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Need help wiring a new temporary service pole


Yeah, there one in the same. I just use the term "cap" for SE cable and "weatherhead" for conduit.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 07:15 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Need help wiring a new temporary service pole


Quote:
they faxed me a nearly unreadable diagram of what they want to see to approve it,
The smart thing to do is have them email it so you can read exactly what they want. The will tell you conduit size, wire size, point of attachment height, meter height...everything you need to know to do it right the first time
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 09:43 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 'burbs of Detroit, MI
Posts: 465
Default

Need help wiring a new temporary service pole


Thanks for the assistance, I think we're in business! I did get another diagram from them with distances and spacing but it doesn't say conduit or entrance cable size; I'll call them to find out. The one thing they have labeled is the panel below the meter, they have it marked as "rain-tight dead front service switch." What is a dead front service switch?

Thanks again!

moneymgmt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remodel - Moving from 200 amp service to 320 amps stevedar Electrical 20 11-29-2009 08:14 PM
Service entrance wiring hunterthompson Electrical 6 09-20-2009 02:59 PM
Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit rlmorgan Electrical 38 10-15-2008 07:59 PM
Grounding for two service entrances to same house. jogr Electrical 18 09-24-2008 10:31 AM
Wiring a Pole Barn rocky Electrical 8 02-02-2006 06:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.