Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-07-2013, 06:36 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,588
Rewards Points: 2,084
Default

need help wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by jhack836 View Post
so basically the only way to do what I want to do is to add a 3rd wire to the outlet? correct?
I have no idea what your current setup is like. But the diagrams I have shown will function as you want. With one part of the receptacle always HOT and the other part of the receptacle controlled by a switch.

Apply the principle of the drawings to your situation.

hammerlane is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 06:42 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 248
Rewards Points: 150
Default

need help wiring


so one of those to the attic is probably the incoming power. the other side of the box is 1 outlet
Attached Thumbnails
need help wiring-img_0048.jpg  
jhack836 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 07:26 PM   #33
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,700
Rewards Points: 2,074
Default

need help wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by jhack836 View Post
so basically the only way to do what I want to do is to add a 3rd wire to the outlet? correct?
The only way to do what you want to do requires a TWO more wires there: the actual feed for the receptacle circuit that the switch loop pair would tie into.

1) B/W (120V) ---> receptacle
2) feed black to TOP brass screw
3) tie into that feed black wire (pigtail, backstab, etc)
4) run that wire up to to/through the switch
5) run it's pair back down to the BOTTOM screw on the receptacle

It doesn't appear that you have the 120V feed to the receptacle box.

Last edited by TarheelTerp; 06-07-2013 at 07:29 PM.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 08:09 PM   #34
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,874
Rewards Points: 2,018
Default

need help wiring


Say Jhack... Curiosity that your wired in BX (AC)... Where ya from... is this Chicago area?????

Best

Peter
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 08:23 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,588
Rewards Points: 2,084
Default

need help wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by jhack836 View Post
so one of those to the attic is probably the incoming power. the other side of the box is 1 outlet
Dont you know how to determine which pair of wires is your feed? If not back to high school electrical shop.
hammerlane is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 08:48 PM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

need help wiring


Need to run a 14/2 (or 12/2, whatever the branch size is) from the jbox to the receptacle.

I'm visualizing that the white wire in this run would have no connection. He just needs to pick up the hot in the jbox, and switch loop there, right?

Hammerlane, I can't upload any of my pics. If I'm correct, and you understand what I'm saying, maybe you can draw it?
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 08:52 PM   #37
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,874
Rewards Points: 2,018
Default

need help wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
Need to run a 14/2 (or 12/2, whatever the branch size is) from the jbox to the receptacle.

I'm visualizing that the white wire in this run would have no connection. He just needs to pick up the hot in the jbox, and switch loop there, right?

Hammerlane, I can't upload any of my pics. If I'm correct, and you understand what I'm saying, maybe you can draw it?
Sir Sparky.... He's in AC... see his new picture above... don't know/see distances, but kinda looks like an easy pull...?
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)

Last edited by MTN REMODEL LLC; 06-07-2013 at 08:55 PM.
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 09:18 PM   #38
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 248
Rewards Points: 150
Default

need help wiring


from se wisconsin
jhack836 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 10:09 PM   #39
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

need help wiring


Here's a diagram that should work, should you be able to find the hot wire in the jbox.

__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 06:44 AM   #40
Bill Kearney
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,978
Rewards Points: 1,124
Default

need help wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by jhack836 View Post
so one of those to the attic is probably the incoming power. the other side of the box is 1 outlet
You can GET to the back side like that? Well, hell, that makes the job a shedload easier. Yeah, you'd need a 14/3 (or 12/3) pulled to the outlet. Replace the existing 2-conductor line.

wkearney99 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to wkearney99 For This Useful Post:
Gac66610 (06-08-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attic wiring - ceiling lighting uses 14/2 cable without ground darlingm Electrical 3 11-29-2011 10:01 AM
Backyard wiring questions MikeInDetroit Electrical 1 11-02-2011 10:46 AM
Cloth Wiring - Replace? JessicaGus Electrical 9 09-23-2009 07:45 PM
Replacing wiring in middle of run, ungrounded lighting circuit alexz Electrical 3 07-05-2007 09:53 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 08:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.