Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-02-2013, 01:37 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Need help with Wire Gauge Size


I am running a straight run of 800 feet of cable to get 20amps of service at our boat dock. I have been told so many different things so was hoping I could get a straight answer on here. I need to bury the cable in the ground. I was also hoping to find out a good place I can order this wire cheap. Thanks for the help

I was told 10 gauge for the first 600 then switch to 12 gauge. I was thinking for 6 gauge but hoping you guys could help

tj0214 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 01:46 PM   #2
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,171
Default

Need help with Wire Gauge Size


I wouldn't switch sizes mid-run. For one thing, you'd have to have a junction box accessible at that point (sticking out of the ground).

I just did a quick VD calc, and it shows that you would need 2/0 conductors for that long of a run, if you really need the full 20A at the end of the run.

(Calculated online, not by me personally, so take that into consideration)

jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 01:50 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Need help with Wire Gauge Size


Im not sure what you mean by conductors. I was going to lay the cable and then have a electrician hook it up. What about a 10 amp service down there?

All I am trying to do is run our boat lift which takes 3 amps and have some power for some lights.

The 2/0 is that either 2 gauge or 0 gauge?
tj0214 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 01:55 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,322
Default

Need help with Wire Gauge Size


Your boat lift only takes 3 amps?

The load will affect the voltage drop calculation,
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 01:59 PM   #5
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,171
Default

Need help with Wire Gauge Size


The conductors are what's inside the cable.

2/0 wire (called out as "2 ought") is bigger than 0 guage...pretty good size conductors.

And, like Jim said, I can't imagine a boat lift would only need 3A.
jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 03:19 PM   #6
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,647
Default

Need help with Wire Gauge Size


Quote:
Originally Posted by tj0214 View Post
I am running a straight run of 800 feet of cable...
That is one rather long run.

Quote:
...to get 20amps of service at our boat dock.
That is one rather small use.

The time and effort and expense isn't worth it.
I couldn't see justifying the work for less than a 60A panel. LINK
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 04:19 PM   #7
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,632
Default

Need help with Wire Gauge Size


First off, since a body of water is involved, I HIGHLY recommend you hire an electrician, so many people have been injured and died due to poorly installed electrical installations dealing with the exact scenario you are proposing. If nothing else, at least you wont be the one being sued if an accident does arise.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (05-02-2013), Kyle_in_rure (05-02-2013), mm11 (05-03-2013), mpoulton (05-02-2013)
Old 05-02-2013, 05:07 PM   #8
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,521
Default

Need help with Wire Gauge Size


Wiring a dock is not a DIY project, in my opinion. It's more dangerous than wiring a swimming pool, and many innocent third parties have been killed by dock wiring mistakes. With that said, I think this is a good application for solar. 800 feet is too far to run utility power for such small loads. A few batteries, a solar panel, and an inverter would solve your problem for less money and with less risk.

__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (05-02-2013), Jim Port (05-02-2013), Kyle_in_rure (05-02-2013), mm11 (05-03-2013), Speedy Petey (05-02-2013), stickboy1375 (05-02-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10 Gauge wire with 30amp circuit and Baseboard Heat? RocketManZ Electrical 4 12-17-2011 12:19 PM
transfer switch - wire gauge soma Electrical 14 12-03-2011 09:53 PM
Ground Wire Size Question Suprageezer Electrical 12 07-28-2011 03:00 PM
What gauge wire for 100 ft run? philesq Electrical 6 07-19-2011 10:50 PM
What size ground wire should I use for 8 gauge power dxmullin Electrical 1 07-06-2011 02:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.