Need Help W/ My Dryer Hookup - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2011, 06:26 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

need help w/ my dryer hookup


Im tryin to wire my dryer into my stove circuit, it has a 3 prong pigtail. The building is old and the power source only has 2 hot wires and a ground, no neutral. I used 10/3 600 volt wire and wired the black and red to the hots of the source and wired the white and ground together(thats the way the stove is wired to). I bought a 30A 3 wire NONGROUNDED receptacle. My question is what do I do with the neutral terminal on the receptacle? just leave it blank since my neutral is wired to the ground? if so do I then need to connect the neutral terminal block on the dryer to ground?

Sorry if this sounds confusing.

Advertisement

benjammin5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 06:33 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 3,016
Rewards Points: 2,212
Default

need help w/ my dryer hookup


Hire somebody to do it for you. Your very question tells me you don't know what you're doing. News flash: electricity is dangerous and will kill you.

Advertisement

md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 06:36 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

need help w/ my dryer hookup


dont you have anything better to do than give useless answers on forums?
benjammin5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 07:07 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

need help w/ my dryer hookup


Does 10/3 come with a red leg? 4 wire no? Sorry to ask off your question ben.
Shauni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 07:22 PM   #5
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,299
Rewards Points: 1,050
Default

need help w/ my dryer hookup


"md2lgyk" post was a bit rude, but he got the point across. Dealing with electricity is, IMO, not an everyday DIY matter. What you are doing sounds to me as if it is against codes and dangerous. This sounds as if you are trying to "pigtail" your dryer from your stove's service. NOT a good thing to do. This will put both of these appliances on one circuit, and they should have two different breakers with two different amp loads. NO--don't tell me that you will be using only one of them at any time, this just doesn't happen forever. Someone's baking in the oven, frying on the stove-top, and someone else goes to start a dryer load of clothes. BAM--tripped breaker at the best, blown fuse(s) at the worst.
First you state that your old wiring has the 2 hot wires and a ground. This leads me to wonder whether you have a "ground" (bare/green), or are you referring to the white wire as a ground? Very popular with older wiring. So--you bought some 10/3 wiring to run your new dryer feed. This should be from your breaker box/fuse panel IF you have enough service to tie this in. Then the black and red will be your hot wiring, and the white will be the neutral, and the bare copper wire will become the earth ground. This is why "md2lgyk" was telling you that you really need to call in an electrician.
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 08:17 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,900
Rewards Points: 2,154
Default

need help w/ my dryer hookup


NO, md2lgyk's post was NOT rude, and is the most accurate answer here.

benjammin5150, is painfully obvious that you DO NOT know what you are doing. The fact that you are trying to turn a straight 240v circuit that has no neutral, into a 120/240v circuit that requires a neutral proves this.

PLEASE hire someone to do this right before you kill yourself, or worse yet someone else.
Besides, you say your "building". If this is an apartment then you should NOT be touching anything electrical there. ESPECIALLY if you are just renting.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
jamiedolan (02-24-2011)
Old 02-24-2011, 09:30 PM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

need help w/ my dryer hookup


I have to agree with speedy on this one, sometimes people have to be told straight up that they should not be touching electricity.

This reminds me of a slogan I saw on a service van(plumbing company i think) it said "we repair what your husband tried to fix"
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 09:47 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

need help w/ my dryer hookup


Are you adding the dryer to the stove circuit and keeping the stove wired ?
If so not allowed by code
Or is the stove gone & you want to use the circuit for the dryer ?
And most stoves have a 40a or 50a breaker
So you can't use #10 unless you install a 30a breaker
Best bet is to run new wire back to the panel for proper hook-up
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 10:09 PM   #9
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

need help w/ my dryer hookup


then theres the whole issue of 3 wire vs. 4 wire

Advertisement

__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric Dryer not turning on c.abrams Electrical 3 01-09-2011 07:18 PM
Dryer Hookup (220v, 30 amp, 4-wire) MartinD Electrical 1 12-23-2010 09:59 PM
Problems with Whirlpool Dryer Hookup! Help! maryrgrimm Appliances 1 04-07-2010 08:42 AM
Dryer exhaust duct not connected inside dryer frankrizzo Appliances 4 02-09-2010 09:47 PM
Dryer Hookup tate16t Electrical 17 10-30-2009 08:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts