Need Help Replacing Switches In Four-way Circuit - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2008, 09:52 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need help replacing switches in four-way circuit


I am trying to replace the switches in a four-way circuit (three switches, one light). (There is nothing wrong with the switches, we just want to update them.) The switches are old (about 1960) and do not have anything to distinguish the common wire from the others (no label, all screws are the same color, etc), I have replaced single-pole switches before, but this is my first time tackling three/four-way switches. Can you help me figure out which wire goes where? For what it's worth, one three-way switch has a black wire, a white wire and a red wire, the other three-way switch has two black wires and a white wire, and the four-way switch in the middle has two black and two white. But considering how strangely this house was wired, that might not mean much. The voltage across the various wire is either 70 V (is that normal??? Shouldn't it be 120 V like the single-pole switches?) or zero V. But I'm not sure how to tell from that which wire is the common. Thanks for the help!

Advertisement

magnolia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 10:22 PM   #2
Master Of Nothing
 
mr500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 141
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Need help replacing switches in four-way circuit


From where is the power feeding from the panel into the circuit? 1st switch? 2nd? 3rd? is it going to the light first then the switch?

Also is it 2 3 ways and 1 4 way? Check this link. Might help

http://www.wakeforest.edu/~matthews/...itchesTut.html

http://www.selfhelpandmore.com/switchoutlet/4way/
Attached Images
 

Advertisement

__________________
Im Not An Electrician...But I Did Stay At A Holiday Inn Express Last Night!!

Last edited by mr500; 05-09-2008 at 10:26 PM.
mr500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 10:28 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,364
Rewards Points: 3,522
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Need help replacing switches in four-way circuit


Replace one three way switch. Take a guess which wire goes on the common. The new switch will be marked. Try every switch and see if it works. If it doesn't work, move a different wire to the common. It will only take three tries. After you get one working try the other three way. If you can remember which terminal the common wire was on for the first switch it would be a good guess that the wire in the same position on the other switch is the common. When that is working then the tackle the four way. Most likely the black and wire from one cable are one set and the black and white from the other cable are the second set.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 10:40 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need help replacing switches in four-way circuit


Thanks, joed. Good idea -- I'll give that a try.

mr500 -- Thanks for the diagrams. That helps explain it. I don't know which switch the power is feeding in to. I'm finding that all the electrical stuff in this house is pretty nonstandard (9 wires to operate a doorbell??). Yes, it's got two 3-way switches and 1 4-way switch.
magnolia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
replacing old outlets and switches Nailpounder Electrical 7 04-28-2008 10:36 AM
Dead outlet and switches on otherwise live circuit viking1974 Electrical 4 08-23-2007 06:30 PM
Replacing wiring in middle of run, ungrounded lighting circuit alexz Electrical 3 07-05-2007 09:53 PM
Replacing a circuit breaker PaulGray Electrical 3 05-13-2006 10:17 PM
15A switches on a 20A circuit Unregistered Electrical 1 03-07-2004 04:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts