Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-07-2010, 10:37 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 25
Default

need help on prewire security system


Hi, I think it might be a good time to prewire a security system for my house because it's 'naked' without sheetrock nor insulation on yet.
I am not going to put on any sensor or keypad yet, but I plan to install all possible wires now which will run to the crawspace/basement.

I need suggestion: what kind of wire should I prepare for a motion sensor, window/door sensor, keypad and outdoor alarm/strobe?

I have plenty of 18-2, 20-2 wires and cat 6. I plan to prepare wires for the following components:
keypad: (1) 18-2 and (1) cat 6
window/door sensor: (1) 20-2
motion sensor: (1) 20-2 and (1) cat 6
outdoor alarm/strobe: (1) 18-2 and (1) cat 6

Any suggestion will be highly appreciated! Thanks!


Last edited by pttcc; 11-07-2010 at 10:39 PM.
pttcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 11:10 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

need help on prewire security system


Hey, did you figure out what was required with your prewire?? Let me know, just joined this site and would like to help.

James

SpecTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 11:37 PM   #3
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

need help on prewire security system


he was looking for help so if you want to prove you aren't simply spamming, offer some guidance. The guy was asking for suggestions so make some suggestions.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 01:02 AM   #4
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

need help on prewire security system


Quote:
Originally Posted by SpecTech View Post
Hey, did you figure out what was required with your prewire?? Let me know, just joined this site and would like to help.

James
Watching this very closely. Advertising your company will not be tolerated on this site, and your other post has been removed due to spam. If you have answers to the OP's question we definitely encourage you to post them.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I Need a New Boiler. What do i need to know New Boiler Co Plumbing 0 10-23-2010 06:03 PM
Anyone have a home security system? kristiamy Safety 1 10-17-2010 08:54 PM
Is 1/2 Pex more restrictive than 1/2 copper? twilightcall Plumbing 19 06-24-2008 07:32 AM
Size A/C system properly 70stang HVAC 1 03-26-2006 07:22 PM
Replace furnace, coil and duct system sps123 HVAC 2 01-07-2006 10:56 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.