Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-05-2011, 10:28 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Need help planning an electrical service upgrade to detached garage


Hi, y'all,

First off, I have read a lot of threads on this site about running electricity to a detached garage. I also thought this pdf file from Bloomington, Minn. was very helpful: http://www.ci.bloomington.mn.us/hand...3fffdetach.pdf

I need to run RG6UQ for some HD antennas back to my house from a detached garage. Since I have to dig a trench, I may as well lay conduit for a future electrical upgrade.

The house and detached garage were built around 1915. The existing underground cable is something no longer made today. It's only two conductors, very light gauge, and visibly deteriorated. The cable is in a conduit with a very small I.D. and is also visibly deteriorated. So, I don't want to reuse the conduit.

(1) As I understand things, my choices are direct burial at 24 inches; or PVC conduit at 18 inches; or rigid or intermediate conduit at 6 inches. The distance is only about 25 feet. But for the last 10 feet, I'll be digging on my hands and knees under my deck. So I'm thinking that the 6 inch option is the least of the evils. I've never run conduit before, so how would you do it?

(2) Immediately after it enters my house's basement, the old wire enters a box and is spliced to modern Romex. I read somewhere that no splices are allowed between the subpanel in a detached garage and the main panel in the house basement. Is this correct?

(3) Does the subpanel in the garage have to mounted at any particular height? Is there a maximum or a minimum? I've never seen anything about this.

(4) As for the RG6UQ, I know it needs its own conduit. It's only going to be carrying a few millivolts from the antennas. Is there any particular conduit I have to use for this? If not, I'd just as soon use a length of heavy duty garden hose running all the way from the interior of the garage to the interior of the basement. The hose is waterproof by definition and would provide as much protection from accidental damage as I really need.

Thanks in advance to all,
Paul

PaulTurner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 10:56 AM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,439
Default

Need help planning an electrical service upgrade to detached garage


1. You could run it along the underside of the deck and go underground at the edge of the deck.
2. Not true. Splices are fine if imade in a proper accessible box.
3. Same as any other sub panel. Maximum height of highest breaker is 6'7". Standard clearances are also required.30 x 36.
4. I don't believe conduit is REQUIRED. I don't like the garden hose idea however. No underground conduit is ever dry. They all fill with water from condensation.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 03:43 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Need help planning an electrical service upgrade to detached garage


Joe,

Thank you for such a quick reply. I've got a few follow up questions.

(1) I see you've got a ton of posts here, some 3,200 to my one. Where do you get your knowledge from?

(2) I really like your tip about running the cable along the underside of the deck. Are you sure that this practice is the same in the U.S. as in Canada?

(3) Running from the edge of the deck to the garage, do you have a preference for type or brand of conduit?

(4) You mention standard clearances for the subpanel. I didn't follow you here.

(5) I've got an unused 220v outlet near the location where the electrical cable from the garage enters the house's basement. It was for an electric clothes dryer before I had natural gas run into the house. The 220v outlet is on a dedicated circuit and isn't going to get reused in the future.

What do you think about replacing the 220v outlet with a box and splicing in a cable out to a main breaker subpanel in the garage? I don't need 220v service at present, but it could be handy someday.
PaulTurner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to run electrical service into the house smithers76 Electrical 10 01-05-2011 06:05 AM
Really long secondary run to service detached garage crankcase Electrical 6 09-21-2010 09:47 PM
Electrical in detached garage mattjub Electrical 6 04-07-2010 10:44 AM
detached garage Kapt Electrical 12 01-17-2007 08:37 AM
electrical service for garage rocketman Electrical 1 12-01-2006 05:13 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.