Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-14-2013, 10:45 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 24
Share |
Default

need help on outlet wiring!!


OK, HERE GOES:

I used 12/2 to wire outlets in my enclosed deck.

i think i did something wrong as several (8 outlets) do not work, 3 outlets do.


power wired to junction box:
- used a pig tale as i was connecting two other 12/2 wires together.
- i connected all three blacks together, three whites, three grounds

I don't think that is my problem as one of the 12/2 wires from that all three outlets work.

its the other 12/2 wire that all is attached to doestn work

12/2 from junction box goes to a switch (this swich runs one outside outlet "ghfi", to turn on/off), also another 12/2 wire that has 7 oulets on it is there.

i connected the black from outside outlet to top of sinple pole switch, i then used a pig tale from the black power in from junction and blace out to other 7 outlets for bottom of singple pole switch. i then used pig tale for ground on single pole switch to the other two grounds.

i'm guessing something is wrong with what i did. the outside outlet doesn't work and all other 7 outlets don't work. i have a volt detector to see if wires have power and all the wires beep for power in the lines to and from all outlets (they still exposed as siding not up, easy to check wires). so the hot wire is going through to outlets but is there something i did wrong with the whites or grounds???

i drew out the diagram as i wired it so see what you think
Attached Thumbnails
need help on outlet wiring!!-img_1173.jpg   need help on outlet wiring!!-img_1174.jpg   need help on outlet wiring!!-img_1175.jpg   need help on outlet wiring!!-img_1176.jpg  

Kansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 10:57 AM   #2
Member
 
eastcoastsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Pennsauken, NJ
Posts: 182
Default

need help on outlet wiring!!


Can you get a better angle on that switch box i think i see the problem

eastcoastsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 11:59 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 24
Default

need help on outlet wiring!!


Another pic
Attached Thumbnails
need help on outlet wiring!!-image.jpg  
Kansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 12:00 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 24
Default

need help on outlet wiring!!


Another pic
Attached Thumbnails
need help on outlet wiring!!-image.jpg  
Kansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 12:02 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 24
Default

need help on outlet wiring!!


Let me know if I need to try another angle

Thanks for looking!!!
Attached Thumbnails
need help on outlet wiring!!-image.jpg  
Kansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 12:04 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

need help on outlet wiring!!


what the hay is this
Attached Thumbnails
need help on outlet wiring!!-img_1174.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 12:07 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

need help on outlet wiring!!


And seriously. I got lost. I see hots connectected to neutrals and so forth.

But in the spirit of cooperation you most likely have a loose neurtral wire in one of the bundles. Check the bundle of neutrals circled in green.
Attached Thumbnails
need help on outlet wiring!!-img_1173.jpg   need help on outlet wiring!!-img_1175.jpg  

Last edited by hammerlane; 03-14-2013 at 12:10 PM.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 12:08 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 24
Default

need help on outlet wiring!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerlane View Post
what the hay is this
Lol sorry none of that cross area connected just overlap in drawing, my bad was in a hurry drawing it
Kansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 12:09 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 24
Default

need help on outlet wiring!!


Ok I try to draw it again
Kansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 12:12 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

need help on outlet wiring!!


use larger lines for cables and thinner lines for individual conductors(wires) or go and use microsoft paint and draw as below.
Attached Thumbnails
need help on outlet wiring!!-4-way-11-can-lites-2.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 12:19 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 24
Default

need help on outlet wiring!!


I used blue color for white wire, orange for ground, black for black wire.


Wondering if it would of been easier to do a junction of the main power to outlets then have another to switch then all done in one spot??
Attached Thumbnails
need help on outlet wiring!!-image.jpg  

Last edited by Kansas; 03-14-2013 at 12:25 PM.
Kansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 12:29 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 24
Default

need help on outlet wiring!!


Trying to get pic upright not working so far
Attached Thumbnails
need help on outlet wiring!!-image.jpg  
Kansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 12:31 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

need help on outlet wiring!!


So all outlets on runs "A" and "B" do not work?
Attached Thumbnails
need help on outlet wiring!!-image.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 12:38 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

need help on outlet wiring!!


As you have it drawn above, all outlets on run "B" should always be HOT and all outlets on run "A" should all be switched controlled.

You must have connected something wrong along the way because the diagram is correct functionally.
Attached Thumbnails
need help on outlet wiring!!-img_1173.jpg  

Last edited by hammerlane; 03-14-2013 at 12:44 PM.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 12:40 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

need help on outlet wiring!!


Try this, take wire "C" and attach it to point "D". This bypasses the switch and all outlets on run "A" should be always HOT.
Attached Thumbnails
need help on outlet wiring!!-image.jpg  

hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring an outlet to a switch, to a light Athens Electrical 5 01-04-2012 07:03 PM
small secondary countertop outlet issue rasz Electrical 8 11-07-2011 04:14 PM
Help wiring new outlet Wnt2bsleepin Electrical 15 09-08-2011 11:53 AM
Wiring a GFCI Outdoor Outlet from an Inside Outlet - Parallel or Series? Pacal Electrical 28 11-13-2010 03:36 PM
Troubleshooting bedroom outlet wiring? Operator4819 Electrical 15 04-01-2007 08:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.