Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-14-2011, 05:32 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

need help with motor


Hi I have a motor I think it is from HVAC, given to me by a friend and would like to use it on a project, I would like to buy a switch for it and I do not know what to buy and where to buy , color of wires as follow,
white, black,yellow,blue,orange and red..
here is what is written on the template;

1/10 HP 1075 RPM/5 SPEED
115V 8HZ 1.7A 8P 1PH


thank you,
pogie







Pogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 06:25 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,530
Default

need help with motor


Go you want to use at all five speeds or will you just pick one and leave it at that speed?

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 06:39 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Default

need help with motor


I would like to use all the speed, so I can select according to my load..thanks..
Pogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 08:01 AM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,530
Default

need help with motor


Then you need a switch that that has five on positions and a off.
Connect the hot wire to the common of the switch and each of the five speed wires to the other switch connections.
White will be the neutral and the other five wires will be the different speeds. Power between white and any one of the other wires should make it spin.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.

Last edited by joed; 03-15-2011 at 08:04 AM.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 08:02 AM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,530
Default

need help with motor


double post for some reason.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.

Last edited by joed; 03-15-2011 at 08:05 AM.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 08:10 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: southeastern mass.
Posts: 156
Default

need help with motor


going back to the original post, 8hz, 8p???? is this a 8 hz motor???

bernie
bernie963 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 09:29 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Default

need help with motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Then you need a switch that that has five on positions and a off.
Connect the hot wire to the common of the switch and each of the five speed wires to the other switch connections.
White will be the neutral and the other five wires will be the different speeds. Power between white and any one of the other wires should make it spin.
Hi, first I would like thank you for answering my questions..finally I got the switch, somebody gave it to me through my wife, the only thing he told my wife is I need ordinary on/off switch for it..well I am new to this, I do not know where to hook the wires to the switch, the switch has 6 terminals each side..on the right side facing front terminal is in series except for one..please can you guide me step by step on how to hook up this switch..included is pictures of the switch and motor wiring..thank you very much for your time..



http://s1086.photobucket.com/albums/...rq5_daw/motor/
Pogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 09:38 AM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,530
Default

need help with motor


I can't tell if that switch will work. You are going to need to test it with an ohm meter. Find one terminal that is common and the other terminals that connect to the common one at a time as you turn the switch. It may not even work. I did notice that it says three phase on it.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help Carrier, Briant Furnance with Variable motor problem ahenderson HVAC 1 12-19-2010 12:07 PM
New fan motor going out? DavidI HVAC 5 06-23-2010 10:38 AM
Air Handler Motor Wiring brando1118 HVAC 13 06-18-2010 11:42 AM
Motor control wiring problem dgr68 Electrical 8 01-04-2009 05:13 PM
Replacing a Condenser Fan Motor thothtp HVAC 5 06-08-2008 06:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.