Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-13-2012, 03:27 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

Need help installing a sub panel outside off the main for multiple A/C units


Hi everyone and thank you in advance for the great help offered here!

I currently live in Puerto Rico and houses here are contructed of concrete walls and roofing.

My project consist of adding a sub-pannel to feed 3 A/C units that are located on my roof. I would also like to connect a security flood lamp to it and future expansion for another 2 A/C.

I am including pictures of the main feed that is on the outside wall with the power meter.

I am planing to feed the sub-panel out of the main. The wires will need to run along the outside wall to the roof, and continue in the roof to a central location in the roof that has about 3ft high and 5ft wide concrete wall.

What size (amp breaker), wiring (#8 or #6), and type of conduit should I use?

I am a handyman and are confortable with doing this job.

Thanks in advance.

Need help installing a sub panel outside off the main for multiple A/C units-main.jpg

Need help installing a sub panel outside off the main for multiple A/C units-main-2.jpg

cargarci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 03:33 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

Need help installing a sub panel outside off the main for multiple A/C units


With 6's, you are going to be limited to max 75A.

How much do the AC's draw? How large is the main? What else is on the service (water heater, dryer, range)?

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 03:36 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Need help installing a sub panel outside off the main for multiple A/C units


The main disconnect shown in the picture is a 200amp.

The A/C's are 8amps, 11amps and 14amps. Future A/C's would be of 11amps each.

So;
8, 11, 14, 11, 11 for all five A/Cs
cargarci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 03:48 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,528
Default

Need help installing a sub panel outside off the main for multiple A/C units


There is no room to add additional breaker in that meter panel. You will need to come from the inside panel.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 03:50 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Need help installing a sub panel outside off the main for multiple A/C units


How do I do it? the panel is in the middle of the house!
cargarci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 11:25 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Need help installing a sub panel outside off the main for multiple A/C units


Ok, I am back in business. I found a 1 in conduit that goes from the sub-panel to the roof and is empty. There is also room in the sub-panel to put a double breaker.

The run is about 90ft long.

So what wires should I use #6 or #8 for load and common? Ground #10?

What about breaker size on sub-panel A and A/C loads?


Thanks in advance!

cargarci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 07:42 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Need help installing a sub panel outside off the main for multiple A/C units


I just need the wiring size and breakers recommendations, anyone please?
cargarci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 08:25 AM   #8
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,845
Default

Need help installing a sub panel outside off the main for multiple A/C units


Quote:
Originally Posted by cargarci View Post
I just need the wiring size and breakers recommendations, anyone please?
# 3 Cu, 100 amp.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 02:02 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Need help installing a sub panel outside off the main for multiple A/C units


I cannot feed 4 #3 wires in a 1 inch conduit???

cargarci is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main Service Panel to 2 breaker panels - I can imagine you all rolling your eyes kalus Electrical 22 03-23-2012 02:09 AM
installing 200A panel 1000 feet away from main 600A rocky69 Electrical 2 09-23-2010 08:15 PM
main to sub panel conduit/wire run daddyrabbit Electrical 7 02-12-2010 07:12 PM
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 08:43 PM
advice on installing equipment grounding bar in main panel pacifier1er Electrical 5 05-29-2007 05:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.