Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-24-2009, 09:11 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

NEED HELP with hard wired timer to outlet


Can you connect a hard wired electrical timer to a socket outlet via a switch wire???
for example, hot active to a screw connector with a switch wire to timer
return switch wire to the outlet active side.
hot neutral to outlet neutral side
hot earth to the earth pin on the outlet.

puffedupseagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 09:17 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

NEED HELP with hard wired timer to outlet


Quote:
Can you connect a hard wired electrical timer to a socket outlet via a switch wire???
Define switch wire.


And start over with your example . Use some puntuation. It makes no sense........ to me anyway,

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 09:31 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

NEED HELP with hard wired timer to outlet


Sorry about that.

I want to connect a timer, which is required to be hard wired, not a plug in.
So can I
using a two core and earth supply wire - 2.5mm TPS
** put the hot supply active into a screw connector with a 2.5mm two core switch wire, and run this to the timer.
** then have the return switch wire return to the active pin of the socket outlet.
** the supply neutral to the neutral pin on the outlet.
** and the earth from my supply to the earth pin on the outlet.
At the end of the day im really just running a simple switch wire from the active to a timer and back to the outlet.
IS THIS PERMISSIBLE
puffedupseagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 09:51 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

NEED HELP with hard wired timer to outlet


Quote:
At the end of the day im really just running a simple switch wire from the active to a timer and back to the outlet.
You can switch anything you want as long as you switch the hot side.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 10:44 PM   #5
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

NEED HELP with hard wired timer to outlet


What you describe is electrically possible, but most of us here are American or Canadian, so we likely can't tell you if it is legal by the regs in your area. I'm guessing by some of your language that you are Australian. I don't see why, if you do your install according to accepted practices and with standard material, it wouldn't be legal. But again, I'm just talking out of my blow hole, because I personally have no knowledge of your local standards.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard wired smoke alarm in NYS ADKstorm Electrical 12 04-30-2009 10:58 PM
Putting in GFI outlet on a timer for xmas lights farmerde Electrical 4 11-20-2008 10:23 PM
Hard wired Low Voltage Transformer? VistaV Electrical 9 04-25-2008 11:04 AM
Is this outlet wired correctly? NotSoHandyDan Electrical 14 04-11-2008 09:56 PM
Just to confirm, no GFCI needed for hard wired pool pump..right?? Al the Diy guy Electrical 6 02-10-2008 01:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.