Need Help Getting Right Size Breaker And Wire For Tig Welder - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-16-2010, 05:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

need help getting right size breaker and wire for tig welder


I have a lincoln pro 175 tig welder
(230v)

my I like to know what size wire and breaker this unit needs. I really dont understand the info in manual

http://im1.shutterfly.com/media/47a0...D550/ry%3D400/

I need to run about 30 ft of wire..

Advertisement

jss12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 10:14 PM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

need help getting right size breaker and wire for tig welder


Will this unit will be at the detached or attached garage ?

I did read it and it stated it need 100 amp breaker with 10mm˛ { #8 AWG } conductor size but I don't think that is correct at all.

Before we can go on further in if you have detached garage how big the subpanel you have there or what ??

If attached garage it will be not too bad to deal with it.

Merci.
Marc

Advertisement

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 11:03 PM   #3
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

need help getting right size breaker and wire for tig welder


At the bottom of the referenced chart there is a foot note:
The National Electrical Code permits operation at rated output and duty cycle from a 50 amp receptacle when supply lines and fuses are sized per this table.

I suppose the duty cycle allows the use of smaller wire.

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 11:54 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

need help getting right size breaker and wire for tig welder


the workshop is not part of the house. i think main breaker switch in panel is 100.
jss12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 03:21 AM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

need help getting right size breaker and wire for tig welder


Quote:
Originally Posted by jss12 View Post
the workshop is not part of the house. i think main breaker switch in panel is 100.
Ok as you say the workshop is not part of the house so it is a detached building and per the code we can only allowed one MWBC so if you have exsting circuit going to the workshop can you tell us what size circuit you have in there ??

And to increase the capaitcy of that circuit you have to install the subpanel and use the correct conductor size for it.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 04:29 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

need help getting right size breaker and wire for tig welder


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
I did read it and it stated it need 100 amp breaker with 10mm˛ { #8 AWG } conductor size but I don't think that is correct at all....
Sounds right to me. Notice that the wire must be installed in conduit for that size to be utilized.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (10-18-2010)
Old 10-17-2010, 04:44 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

need help getting right size breaker and wire for tig welder


100 amp sounds huge not to mention 100 amp and only a 10 gauge wire? that does not sound right

the machine uses a 50 amp male plug.

50 amp plug if i remember reading right should be match with a 8 gauge wire.
jss12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 05:29 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 441
Rewards Points: 252
Default

need help getting right size breaker and wire for tig welder


look at art.630.11 in the nec.his tig has a duty cycle of 25%.multiply rated input current by the factor gor 30% duty cycle factor which is .55.you come up with 35.75 amps.#8 is fine.art 630 in nec deals wiyh welders.see table 630.11(a)
oleguy74 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 12:36 AM   #9
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

need help getting right size breaker and wire for tig welder


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Sounds right to me. Notice that the wire must be installed in conduit for that size to be utilized.
Thanks for bring it up and almost slipped from my mind due I am got used with French codes and of course that is only with hardwired but for cord /plug set up I am pretty sure that the bet is off on this one.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 10:59 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

need help getting right size breaker and wire for tig welder


lincoln just replied saying I need 8gauge wire and 125 amp breaker.

this once again makes no sense to me

unit has a 50 amp rate plug on it

the breaker is suppose to protect wire

jss12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 11:57 AM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

need help getting right size breaker and wire for tig welder


Quote:
Originally Posted by jss12 View Post
llincoln just replied saying I need 8gauge wire and 125 amp breaker.

this once again makes no sense to me
Why not? You have to stop thinking inside the box on such installations, and follow the Code.

Section 240-4(D) does not apply here.

You are under 240-4(G), and that section refers to article 630. There are specific guidelines for welder circuits, and they have already been pointed out to you. The manufacturer has also confirmed their circuit chart is correct.

Just be sure that your #8 wire is installed in conduit.

Quote:
630.32(B). For Conductors. Conductors that supply one or more welders shall be protected by an overcurrent device rated or set at not more than 300 percent of the conductor rating.
Table 310-16 shows that #8 THHN wire is capable of carrying 50 Amps. Same size as your receptacle and cord and plug on the welder, BTW. Multiply that by 3 and your max breaker size could be as high as 150 Amps. Since the manufacturer has already done the other duty-cycle calculations for this unit, they have determined that a 125 Amp breaker is sufficient.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 03:49 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

need help getting right size breaker and wire for tig welder


my total main breaker is 100 so dont think i can run this machine if it needs 125 just for the 1 machine

Advertisement

jss12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Red wire on 3 way tripping breaker reinsman Electrical 4 09-14-2010 01:24 AM
wire & breaker size rcassidy Electrical 8 02-17-2009 09:37 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM
Wire size and breaker discrepancy Randell Tarin Electrical 22 04-10-2008 08:03 PM
Wire size and Breaker size for remodel ?? Skydmark1 Electrical 12 12-15-2007 06:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts