Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-01-2010, 11:41 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 167
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Need help...existing wiring.


I am finishing my basement and I am removing the existing builder bare lights. They have 2 3-way switches (one at the bottom of the stairs and one from the outside walk out) controlling 3 lights. The 3-way by the indoor stairs has a single 14-3 cable running to the other box (by the walk out). I went to open the other box (by the walk out) and this is what I found and it confuses me. This is a double gang box with two switches...one 3-way for the inside lights mentioned and one for the outside light.

1. The box has two 14-3 cable and one 14-2 cable running into it. The 14-2 is to the outside light. One of the 14-3 wires is ran to the other 3-way switch...by the indoor stairs and the other 14-3 is run up to the light. The way it is wired is confusing to me and I need help figuring it out. See next pic.


2. The switch on the left is the 3-way and has a red from each 14-3 cable connected and the white. The switch on the right is a normal 2-way for the outside light, but they have it double blacked (which I thought was against code) at the bottom terminal one being the "hot" feed and the other black going to the other 14-3 cable.


3. Here is a better shot of the wires. The unsheathed looking ones are going to the outside light, I am guessing the sheathing is up in the conduit.



I need to get rid of the 3 way switches and unneeded cabling and keep the path intact because this circuit also powers my blower for my fireplace directly above this.


Any wisdom or help is GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks, Joe.

Abs777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 12:58 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 167
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Need help...existing wiring.


Any ideas?

Abs777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 02:00 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Springfield OH
Posts: 768
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Need help...existing wiring.


Just over one hour and no response. A little impatient are we?
oberkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 02:37 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 63
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Need help...existing wiring.


3Ways are feed from either switch, Black screw at one end gets feed, the other end goes to light, travelers don't matter, its so simple once you see it. the N gets wire nutted straight through.
jerzeedivr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 02:45 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 288
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Need help...existing wiring.


Turning 2 three way switches into 1 regular switch is easy, but I'd question why you want to do it.
You need a switch at the top and bottom of the stairs.
If you are replacing the light fixture, why are you touching the switches?
Am I misunderstanding what you are asking?
michaelcherr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 03:01 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 167
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Need help...existing wiring.


I don't need the switches anymore, I am removing the lights. I have put cans on new switches down there. I know how 3-way switches work, I have never seen it ran through 2 separate 14-3 cables and was wondering if this was normal.
Abs777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 03:05 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 288
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Need help...existing wiring.


What will light up the stairs now and how is it switched?
michaelcherr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 03:15 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 167
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Need help...existing wiring.


I am converting that to a single gang box for the stair lights. I am just trying to figure out what to do with the two 14-3 cables. Thanks
Abs777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 09:45 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 167
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Need help...existing wiring.


This is resolved. Thanks.

Abs777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tying in wiring to existing ceiling light samson115 Electrical 3 11-22-2009 12:12 PM
replacing old wire on existing circuits... red86yota Electrical 9 12-08-2008 06:00 PM
Blending ceiling patch with existing sheet-rock (slight texture) gmhut Painting 3 07-29-2008 11:16 AM
Permit application harder than the wiring job itself - WA State blschmitz Electrical 2 01-18-2008 07:36 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.