Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-17-2010, 07:19 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ohio
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Need help with double pull Circuit Breaker PLEASE


i have a hot water tank and water pump hooked up to a double pull 20 amp circuit breaker my trouble is that the hot water tank clicks off and i have to reset it everyday there are times when i go to reset it iits very hot and after i click it on you can hear something like arcing i was told to put a 30 amp double pull in place of it can some one please help me with this its getting real bad without hot water

Thanks

Terry Archer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 07:26 PM   #2
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Default

Need help with double pull Circuit Breaker PLEASE


If you have a standard 30 or 40 gal water heater , you should have a #10/2 circuit with a 30A breaker on it.

What is your water heater?


Last edited by codeone; 01-17-2010 at 08:09 PM.
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 07:46 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
richgriffith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 37
Default

Need help with double pull Circuit Breaker PLEASE


need to know couple things?what is the amp rating of the hot water tank for one. what size is the wire that is ran to feed it? sounds like you have a loose connection some were perhaps at the breaker.need to check all you connections (make sure to shut off the power). loose connections will cause things to arc & heat up. but also if your over loading the breaker will cause it to heat up and trip. doing this over a period of time will weaken the springs in the breaker causing it prematurely trip. so it could be a few things or combination of a couple things.
richgriffith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 07:56 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Default

Need help with double pull Circuit Breaker PLEASE


The hotwater tank and the water pump shouldn't be on the same breaker.

check the name plate ratings on both the pump and the tank and put them on seprate breakers also make sure the wire feeding the hot water tank and pump are big enough.

In my house I have a 40gallon hot water tank drawing 3kw -->12amps @ 240volts and I have that on a double pole 15amp and 14/2 cable.

and my water pump is a 1/2horse jet pump drawing 6amps @ 240volts also on a 2 pole 15amp breaker and fed with 14/2 also.

If you hear the breaker arcing I would suggest to replace it, it could've gone defective by overloading it all the time and reseting it.

hopes this helps,

Arjan
arjan12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 08:01 PM   #5
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Default

Need help with double pull Circuit Breaker PLEASE


Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry Archer View Post
i have a hot water tank and water pump hooked up to a double pull 20 amp circuit breaker Thanks
Missed that on first reading, Need seperate circuits deffinately!
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 09:18 PM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Need help with double pull Circuit Breaker PLEASE


Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry Archer View Post
i have a hot water tank and water pump hooked up to a double pull 20 amp circuit breaker my trouble is that the hot water tank clicks off and i have to reset it everyday there are times when i go to reset it iits very hot and after i click it on you can hear something like arcing i was told to put a 30 amp double pull in place of it can some one please help me with this its getting real bad without hot water

Thanks
I put it in bold you need to get both water pump and water heater on seperated circuit.

Normally most water heater typically use 25 or 30 amp double pole breaker while water pump it depending on the horsepower rating of pump it can use either 15 or 20 amp breaker.

And what brand name breaker box you have there ???

some case if you have extra room you can put in standard double pole breaker to slove that issue.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 07:59 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ohio
Posts: 4
Default

Need help with double pull Circuit Breaker PLEASE


sorry about taking so long to get back with you all but i had to work


ok you say you need the make of the box where do you find this ??

please be kind im new to this kind of stuff thanks again for your help
Terry Archer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 08:25 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ohio
Posts: 4
Default

Need help with double pull Circuit Breaker PLEASE


i think i found the name it tells me the name of SIEMENS on the inside of box hope this helps oh ya the hot water is only about 2 years old and it a 40 gal i called the maker of tank and they sent me a new control thrmo for it and i put it on but still pops the breaker also went to hardwear store and they did have a 30 amp boy o boy my water is cold i need more help
Terry Archer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 11:57 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ohio
Posts: 4
Default

Need help with double pull Circuit Breaker PLEASE


well i went out and got a breaker quad pull 20/30 just installed it and so far so good everything seem to be working and not popping the breaker if i did something wrong PLEAE LET ME KNOW LIKE I SAID BEFORE THIS IS ALL NEW TO ME I dont NEED A fire
thanks again for the help its so good to know people are still out there willing to give a helping hand
THANKS SO MUCH
Terry Archer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 01:57 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,741
Default

Need help with double pull Circuit Breaker PLEASE


The way you say 20/30 makes me think you have a quad breaker.
A quad is the size of a double pole breaker, bu has a double pole breaker in the middle, and a double pole breaker on the oustside.
If the old breaker was 20/20, you made a mistake by replacing it with a 20/30.
Pictures will help.
What size wire wire is hooked up to the 30 amp part of the breaker?
Is this a moble home?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 05:00 PM   #11
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Default

Need help with double pull Circuit Breaker PLEASE


As long as your wiring is 10/2 you should be fine with the 30A breaker, with it being a 40 gal water heater. Could you give the specs of the water heater.

codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
circuit breaker, hotwater tank, well pump


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tripping breakers,neutrals,120 volts and 240 volts OH My!!! Stubbie Electrical 17 06-11-2011 06:09 AM
Heat pump circuit breaker pbms pinkertonpv HVAC 11 02-18-2009 09:47 AM
Old Electric Panel/ Circuit Breaker Box dankreboot Electrical 3 12-16-2008 12:52 PM
Heat Pump compressor trips circuit breaker joejean HVAC 3 08-28-2006 12:15 PM
single vs. double breaker Neil_K Electrical 3 11-14-2004 11:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.