Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-22-2010, 04:50 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 132
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Need Help!!! - Compression connector to LR and LB


I am running THHN wire through 1" EMT from my outside electrical panel up the side of my house into the attic. I will be using an LB to penetrate the stucco wall then switch to metal flex once in the attic to a junction box. Romex will branch out from the junction. My question is, do i remove the lock ring and gasket from the wet approved compression connector when I screw it into the LR (see first pic)? My other question is the adapter to the flex metal conduit. It also has a lock ring on it. Do I remove the ring also when threading it into the LB (second pic)? If I am not using the right things let me know as this needs to pass inspection. I am located in SoCAL. THANKS!!
Attached Thumbnails
Need Help!!! - Compression connector to LR and LB-img_2541.jpg   Need Help!!! - Compression connector to LR and LB-img_2543.jpg  

hartkem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 04:53 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 132
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Need Help!!! - Compression connector to LR and LB


This is whats coming out of the panel.

If I were to guess you remove the lock ring and leave the rubber gasket ??

Can anyone answer my questions? Thanks for any help

This is what I have so far (pic below). Currently I am using a Wet location approved compression connector. Do I remove the lock ring and gasket or leave one or both? Thanks so much

This is the connector I am trying to use now.
Attached Thumbnails
Need Help!!! - Compression connector to LR and LB-img_2538.jpg  
Attached Images
 

hartkem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 10:51 PM   #3
Journeyman Wireman
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 188
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Need Help!!! - Compression connector to LR and LB


Remove the lock ring, use the gasket. Use the weather proof fitting on both ends of the condulet.
Jupe Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 10:52 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,829
Rewards Points: 2,456
Default

Need Help!!! - Compression connector to LR and LB


Remove the locknut. Screw the connector into the LR.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 11:20 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 132
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Need Help!!! - Compression connector to LR and LB


"Remove the lock ring and use the gasket" That's what I thought was correct but it seemed as if the gasket has the potential to squeeze out. After some reading online it appears that the water tight connector has straight threads VS. tapered threads on rigid conduit and the threads alone wont seal out moisture. I wish they made LRs and LBs with compression ends for EMT.
hartkem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 11:51 PM   #6
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,131
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

Need Help!!! - Compression connector to LR and LB


Why are you using an LR ? It would be better to use the compession fitting you have coming out of the panel then an emt sweep to compression coupler then from it to the LB.
Attached Thumbnails
Need Help!!! - Compression connector to LR and LB-emt-1.jpg  
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 08-23-2010 at 12:11 AM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 08:29 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 132
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Need Help!!! - Compression connector to LR and LB


stubbie, I just thought it would be easier to pull the wires. I am running 6 12 gauge wires and 3 10 gauge wires (THHN). Any reason to use the sweep vs the LR?

At the top where the LB penetrates the stucco I will switch to Flexible metal conduit which will then travel about 10 feet to a junction box. I will branch off with romex from the junction. I plan to run Hot, Neutral and the ground for each circuit although I have been told the ground is not really need since the conduit provides the ground. I will just attach the ground wires to the junction box. Can I run just one ground wire or do I need one for each circuit? Hope this will pass code.
hartkem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 08:52 AM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,829
Rewards Points: 2,456
Default

Need Help!!! - Compression connector to LR and LB


Only one ground is needed. It will need to be sized based on the largest circuit size through the conduit.

Have you looked at derating issues? Why 3 #10's?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 12:47 PM   #9
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,131
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

Need Help!!! - Compression connector to LR and LB


Quote:
I just thought it would be easier to pull the wires. I am running 6 12 gauge wires and 3 10 gauge wires (THHN). Any reason to use the sweep vs the LR?
Just cleaner and less chance of water intrusion. The LR is fine if you want to go that route. Just seems unecessary to me and I don't see any advantage to pulling the wire.


Quote:
At the top where the LB penetrates the stucco I will switch to Flexible metal conduit which will then travel about 10 feet to a junction box. I will branch off with romex from the junction. I plan to run Hot, Neutral and the ground for each circuit although I have been told the ground is not really need since the conduit provides the ground. I will just attach the ground wires to the junction box. Can I run just one ground wire or do I need one for each circuit? Hope this will pass code.
As Jim said one # 10 ground to the junction box at the end of the FMC. I like the FMC as it will let you get to a JB that is probably going to be in an easier location to work in. Be sure to fasten it about every 4 feet to meet code.. and 12 inches from every conduit body or box to meet code. Same with the romex.

When you branch off to your #12 romex circuits of course the #12 ground will just tie into the #10.

Do not put more than 9 current carrying wires in the conduit run (hots and neutrals) or deration will lower the table ampacity of the #12 wires to less than 20 amps....Jim mentioned this earlier.

Do not reduce to less than 3/4 FMC or you will exceed FMC conduit fill for 6 #12's and 3 #10's plus #10 ground.

Do all those things and you should be good on code compliance.

Might want to pick up a stick of duct seal for around the LB opening going into the house attic.

Only thing else is you might consider a short nipple out of the LB then reducing to 3/4 FMC. This will give you better access to the connection fitting for the FMC... but I can't see your situation so it may not be necessary.

Also as Jim mentioned 3 #10's ? Is that for a small 120/240 volt panel ? Or an appliance?
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 08-23-2010 at 12:52 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 02:29 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 132
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Need Help!!! - Compression connector to LR and LB


Quote:
Also as Jim mentioned 3 #10's ? Is that for a small 120/240 volt panel ? Or an appliance?
I need one 30 amp circuit and two 20 amp circuits.

When I said 3 #10 I was thinking one hot, one neutral, and one ground. After reading your post I really only need the following:
  • Four #12s for the hot and neutral of each 20 amp circuit.
  • Three # 10s for the hot and neutral of the 30 amp circuit plus one for ground.
Correct me if I am wrong and by the way, you guys are great.

Thanks!!
hartkem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 03:41 PM   #11
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,131
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

Need Help!!! - Compression connector to LR and LB


Quote:
Originally Posted by hartkem View Post
I need one 30 amp circuit and two 20 amp circuits.

When I said 3 #10 I was thinking one hot, one neutral, and one ground. After reading your post I really only need the following:
  • Four #12s for the hot and neutral of each 20 amp circuit.
  • Three # 10s for the hot and neutral of the 30 amp circuit plus one for ground.
Correct me if I am wrong and by the way, you guys are great.

Thanks!!
All this sounds fine, should go smoothly enough.

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intermittant total compression loss? johnd393 Automotive Repairs 7 07-26-2014 12:08 PM
Compression Fittings HollandAce Plumbing 3 08-14-2010 07:52 PM
Compression fitting question JeffWireman Plumbing 9 03-07-2010 09:46 PM
New Compression Shut Off Valve for Toilet Leaking C_J_GO Plumbing 6 10-22-2009 04:30 PM
Pex tubing & compression fittings KE2KB Plumbing 2 02-11-2009 08:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.