Need Help On Breaker Panel - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-18-2012, 10:36 PM   #1
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

Need help on breaker panel

Ok, a year or so ago some "electricians" upgraded my dads service from 100 amp to 200amp, these guys really butchered this job up but the worst thing they did was locate the panel DIRECTLY UNDER A TOILET FLANGE....a toilet flange that has been there since 1962.....and it was leaking (not at the time they installed the panel but shortly after i guess)....anyway , water ran down and in the panel, main breaker is corroded pretty bad as is the first 5 or 6 breakers so im wanting to put in a new question (yes, i finally got there) is if i mount a new panel close to the old one can i somehow jump power to the new one while i move stuff over? The reason is this will take me a VERY long time as i just have to do it one wire at a time and untangle their mess at the same time and i didnt want power off to his house that long.......


Budule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 10:59 PM   #2
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Packerland !!
Posts: 1,016
Rewards Points: 500

depending on your location, you wouldn't be able to work on someone else's house unless you were licensed electrician.

you will most likely have to get the poco out to shut off the power while you move the power from one to the other.

someone will chime in though about code and jumping power from one box to another.


bbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 09:38 PM   #3
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

ok, well i guess i'll figure it out somehow.....thanks anyway.....
Budule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 10:20 PM   #4
joed's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 11,798
Rewards Points: 10,388
Blog Entries: 11

I think I would probably power up the new panel and then run a feeder to the old panel while you move circuits over to the new one.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
breaker panel Ehren51 Electrical 3 01-20-2015 05:23 PM
Main Service Panel to 2 breaker panels - I can imagine you all rolling your eyes kalus Electrical 22 03-23-2012 02:09 AM
Modify a breaker panel cover. rrolleston Electrical 14 03-10-2012 05:59 PM
Mounting a generator inlet to the breaker panel erickotz Electrical 2 06-21-2011 12:54 AM
200A upgrade and move, backfeeding permitted? WillK Electrical 3 05-30-2011 08:00 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1