Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-03-2012, 06:06 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 15
Share |
Default

Need help again on generator info


Looking at some diff floor grinder's now and need to know if my generator will run Grinder #1 or Grinder # 2

Generator specs MULTIQUIP GA97HE

Phase Single Phase
Voltage 120/240 V
Watts 9700 W 8400 W
Amps at 120V 80.8 A 70 A
Amps at 240V 40.4 A 35 A
Receptacles & Circuit Breakers Main Circuit Breaker 35 A
Number of Poles 2
1 Receptacle of Each: 5-20R 125V GFCI 20A
L5-20R 125V T-Lock 20A
L5-30R 125V T-Lock 30A
L14-30R 125/250V T-Lock 30A



Grinder # 1 specs

Horsepower 4HP, 3KW
Voltage 1ph x 208-240V
Amperage 14 Amp
Dedicated Breaker Requirement 16 Amp



Grinder # 2 specs

Horsepower 7.5HP, 5.5KW
Voltage 1or 3ph x 208-240V
Amperage 30 Amp
Dedicated Breaker Requirement 30 Amp


Also if it will run the grinder looks like I plug into the L14-30R 125/250V T-Lock 30A plug ?

Says in the owners book ONE PHASE CONNECTION
Please note: the power cable has 3 wires, one ground is yellow/green the other 2 other colors are hot wires and
should be connected to the phases.

What plug do I need to buy cause it dose not come with the grinder.

Thanks so much for the info this site and its members have helped a ton.
Ron.

Epoxyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 01:13 PM   #2
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,592
Default

Need help again on generator info


Grinder #1 will almost certainly run on the gen provided it starts with no load. If it starts loaded, it might or might not. It's close.

Grinder #2 states single or 3. There are no motors that can run on either, so most likely this is a 3 motor being supplied by a VFD. Most VFDs will accept either single or 3 power.

If this is the case, the starting surge of a VFD is small compared to an actual motor, so the gen will very likely run it, but maybe not at 100% load. The reason being that a VFD will backfeed harmonics into the gen, and while this is usually ok at low loads, it can cause trouble at higher loads. Plus, some power is lost in the VFD itself.

Use the L14-30 for both machines.

The gen will run only one at a time.

Elevation is also an issue here, a non-turbo gas engine will lose about 3-1/2% of its HP for every 1000' of elevation. Here in Fernley Nevada (elevation 4160') an 8400 watt gen will produce about 7200 watts.

micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to micromind For This Useful Post:
Epoxyman (11-03-2012)
Old 11-03-2012, 02:21 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 15
Default

Need help again on generator info


Quote:
Originally Posted by micromind View Post
Grinder #1 will almost certainly run on the gen provided it starts with no load. If it starts loaded, it might or might not. It's close.

Grinder #2 states single or 3. There are no motors that can run on either, so most likely this is a 3 motor being supplied by a VFD. Most VFDs will accept either single or 3 power.

If this is the case, the starting surge of a VFD is small compared to an actual motor, so the gen will very likely run it, but maybe not at 100% load. The reason being that a VFD will backfeed harmonics into the gen, and while this is usually ok at low loads, it can cause trouble at higher loads. Plus, some power is lost in the VFD itself.

Use the L14-30 for both machines.

The gen will run only one at a time.

Elevation is also an issue here, a non-turbo gas engine will lose about 3-1/2% of its HP for every 1000' of elevation. Here in Fernley Nevada (elevation 4160') an 8400 watt gen will produce about 7200 watts.

Thanks for the info.

On grinder #2 I can order it just as a single or 3 I was going to just get the single. The only diff in the grinders is one is 4hp and 7hp.

The elevation should be ok I am in FL.

Thanks
Ron.
Epoxyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 11:46 PM   #4
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,592
Default

Need help again on generator info


If grinder #2 is a 7HP single phase motor, the gen might not start it. Hard to say, but I sort of doubt it.

The other grinder will very likely start up just fine provided it starts no load.
micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to micromind For This Useful Post:
Epoxyman (11-04-2012)
Old 11-04-2012, 02:33 AM   #5
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,542
Default

Need help again on generator info


Quote:
Originally Posted by Epoxyman View Post
On grinder #2 I can order it just as a single or 3 I was going to just get the single. The only diff in the grinders is one is 4hp and 7hp.
If you want to run this grinder on that generator, it would probably be better to get the three phase version and a VFD to run the grinder. That's like a super-soft-starter for the motor, that you can program to accelerate the motor slowly enough not to overload the generator.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
Epoxyman (11-04-2012), micromind (11-04-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.