Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-26-2010, 12:42 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

need help with 3phase to single phase on welder


hi all i need help wiring my maxstar 200 sd welder to single phase,the instructions say to remove and make safe red conductor and to just use L1 and L2 and ground but does not say if L1 or L2 is to be used as a neutral L1 is shown black and L2 is shown as white the welder has autoline circuitry to recognise input power, can anyone give me some advice thanks

Tchyor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 12:53 PM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

need help with 3phase to single phase on welder


Just so we understand. Your welder is normally rated as a 208 VAC three phase welder but you can configure it as a 240 VAC welder.
What does the label say it requires for input power (amps) when configured as a single phase welder? The Red wire is L3 - yes?

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 12:56 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 20
Default

need help with 3phase to single phase on welder


Most homes don't have 3 phases but they do have 2 phases. Can't you wire it up using 2 phase 240 VAC?
justinm001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 12:59 PM   #4
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

need help with 3phase to single phase on welder


Quote:
Originally Posted by justinm001 View Post
Most homes don't have 3 phases but they do have 2 phases. Can't you wire it up using 2 phase 240 VAC?
No such thing as 2 phase 240 v power
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 01:01 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
Default

need help with 3phase to single phase on welder


thanks for replies guys i am in uk and 3phase here is 415 volts the welder is an american made welder designed for any voltage between 120v and 500 volts cannot get to amp label just yet as not at home would this welder req a neutral or just L1 and L2 connected together for our 240v single phase domestic supply. thanks
Tchyor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 01:07 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
Default

need help with 3phase to single phase on welder


yes by the way red is L3
Tchyor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 01:13 PM   #7
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,851
Default

need help with 3phase to single phase on welder


What single phase voltage are you wanting ...120 or 240 volts?

Is the manual telling you to use L1 or L2 regardless of what the single phase voltage is?
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 01:14 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 20
Default

need help with 3phase to single phase on welder


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
No such thing as 2 phase 240 v power

Thats right, Been a while since I've messed with 2 phase stuff.
justinm001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 01:20 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
Default

need help with 3phase to single phase on welder


hi stubbie yes L1 and L2 regardless and 240v ac single phase.
Tchyor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 01:29 PM   #10
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,851
Default

need help with 3phase to single phase on welder


Just saw you are in the UK so your single phase is different than ours. You require a neutral in the uk for 250 volts.

Since the welder is made in the US .. white is neutral and black is live.

So my guess is that in the UK you would connect incoming line brown to black (L1) and incoming line blue to white (L2).

This would be if your color code is pre 2005 if not I believe your neutral used to be black and live was red before 2005.

Your ground is unchanged as green/yellow.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 07-26-2010 at 01:31 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 01:34 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
Default

need help with 3phase to single phase on welder


hope this helps
Attached Thumbnails
need help with 3phase to single phase on welder-untitled.jpg  
Tchyor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 01:42 PM   #12
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,851
Default

need help with 3phase to single phase on welder


That drawing is saying that there are no changes necessary at the welder unit terminals. You just simply change the connection at the disconnect box or receptacle for the power source.

It is also showing a connection to 240 volts ac in the USA where we use a double pole breaker for 240 volts we have no neutral for that voltage in single phase. We only have a neutral for 120 volts here.. In the UK you use a single pole breaker and a neutral for 250 volts.

In your case after you cap off the red just connect black to your live and white to your neutral. And I assume somehow the auto-line stuff performs magic and nows the difference.....
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 07-26-2010 at 01:57 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 01:44 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
Default

need help with 3phase to single phase on welder


Thanks Stubbie love you man it makes sense now thanks so much.

Tchyor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replace three phase water heater with single phase keysun Electrical 12 10-24-2009 04:35 PM
Want to add a single phase Subpanel to three Phase Main meglomachinist Electrical 19 09-10-2009 03:46 PM
Sub Panel Main Lug Load Center - Single Phase ? Roy Rowlett Electrical 21 08-20-2009 06:55 PM
How to power a 120/240 volt 3 phase oven in a building with 120/240 volt single phase wantsomegetsome Electrical 9 05-04-2009 10:49 AM
changing single phase to 3 phase bentaypink Electrical 10 12-15-2007 03:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.