Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-08-2012, 01:39 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Need help with 3 light switch.

Hi,
I am stumped on this switch as i have never heard of anything like it. The house was built with a old 50's mobile home in the middle and add on each side. The switch is in the old mobile home. It has 3 switches (i included a pic) the top 2 never did nothing since i owned it the bottom goes to the bathroom. The switch died and i'm trying to replace it with a single pole switch but have no clue what 2 wires to use. I didn't mark the wires when i undid everything but 1 black that is on the right is hot the other 2 black are not. There are 2 metal pins as seen in pic that connect the bottom 2 switches. Volt meter on all 6 wires show 1 hot and the other 5 give 0-2 volt. I measured the volt by grounding the black node and testing each wire with red node. I am not a novice by any means with electric but this is some weird stuff to me. Any help appreciated.
Edit: The left black wire does split to top and middle switch and bottom does have 2 yellow connected to it.
Attached Images

Last edited by xosux; 07-08-2012 at 01:45 AM.
xosux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 06:23 AM   #2
Tool Geek

Rewards Points: 2,048

Most likely,the one black wire is the power to the switch
The other black probably goes to the light.
Throw away the black jumper wire, you don't need it.
If this works, Cap off the yellow wires
Be safe.

Last edited by PaliBob; 07-08-2012 at 06:28 AM.
PaliBob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 09:26 AM   #3
Cruising into the sunset

Rewards Points: 250