Need Help - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2014, 03:41 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

need help


have power outside from breaker box to outside wires once hook up outside plug and plug some in power dies is it a ground or what thanks for any help

Advertisement

roblarissa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 10:26 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 150
Default

need help


need a little more info,what size wire , where does it go. what kinda plug etc.

Advertisement

circuitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 10:51 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,722
Rewards Points: 2,404
Default

need help


How do you know there is power there ?
What are you using to test with ?
I will bet it is phantom voltage

I will bet if you hook up any load to it, the voltage goes away.

If so ? then you really dn't have any power there.
As it is a false positive.

need help-phantom.jpg


You most likely have a broken line.
Or incorrect wiring.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 01:04 PM   #4
Contractor in PA
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SE PA
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default

need help


I agree with "Circuitman" and "dmxtothemax". It sounds like incorrect wiring or a defective connection or defective wire.
We would need a little more info like:
1) Is this a new or old installation? if old, how old?
2) Has the outlet ever worked?
3) Is this an underground circuit? What type of wire was used (UF ?)
4) If underground circuit, has the soil been disturbed lately (digging, planting etc)
5) Is the circuit GFI protected? If so where is the GFI device?

regards
michaelpwalton1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 09:58 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

need help


thanks for the help it is a pool motor pump and just stopped working one day. i did use a volt meter to show power at motor i put new breakers in box and no change it is under ground and has been hit and re-connected a few years ago
roblarissa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 10:02 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 150
Default

need help


i would belive you have a bad splice. i would run a whole new line & do away with the old one.
circuitman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to circuitman For This Useful Post:
Stubbie (06-12-2014)
Old 06-12-2014, 10:25 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 228
Rewards Points: 231
Default

need help


or, mr. obvious might say maybe the motor is bad ?
Cletis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 11:28 PM   #8
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,257
Rewards Points: 2,484
Default

need help


It would help if you could give details. One of the problems I have with giving pool wiring advice is I need to know if the present installation meets acceptable code standards. This is no area to be less than professional in your knowledge. Power can be at the motor but as circuitman said you could have a bad underground splice (open in the wiring) not allowing a complete circuit.

I'm thinking this is an above ground pool could you post some pictures of the motor and wiring connecting to the motor. Is it hard wired ... cord and plug ... what voltage? Is the wiring direct buried or in conduit? You said you replaced breakers in the panel ...what do you mean? Was a underground splice made sometime back? Many unanswered questions.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 05:03 PM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

need help


Considering this is a pool my STRONG recommendation is to have a qualified electrician look at it and fix it.

Advertisement

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts