Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-21-2007, 11:47 PM   #1

Share |

Need help

Hello everyone, my name is Joe and I am new to this. I was searching the internet to find a solution to my problem and saw a topic on split switches.
My problem is I have a dishwasher and garbage disposal sharing a split switch.
I have 5 wires a black, red, 2 whites and one ground. I also have a switch to turn on the garbage disposal. I have tried to connect the wire several times, with no luck. Once I get my garbage disposal to work properly with the switch, my dishwasher will not work. When I switched the wires around my dishwasher would only work when I turned on the switch for the garbage disposal. I would appreciate any and all help. I know black and red are hot, whites are neutral, the other is my ground. Thank you in advanced Joe

jkosmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 12:12 AM   #2

Need help

Well joe...according to my Electrician...that is how it is suppose to be, due to the fact that the Dishwasher is always hot and the disposal is split. Unless you install 2 seperate boxes for each, i.e. one constant for the disposal and one for the switch. Major work for a non elecrtician.

papadonto8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 08:11 AM   #3

Need help

Is this something you found or is this something you are adding on?

The five wires you describe are not enough for a power feed, the line going over to the dishwasher, and the line going over to the disposer. You need to give more information including how wires are grouped into cables.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 09:32 AM   #4

Need help