Need GFCI Wiring Help - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-30-2008, 07:20 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need GFCI wiring help


OK... so I am wiring my house... have done it once before... so I started to get a bit tricky.

I have two circuits for plugs in my kitchen... here was the plan:

Run a 12-3 into the kitchen.
Use the red wire for one circuit... and the black for my second circuit.
I realize that I must run these two circuits off of different "phases" on the panel.

Into my first box I have the following:
12-3 containing both circuits
12-2 leading to the first plug after my black wire GFI
12-2 Leading to a second plug after my black wire GFI
12-2 leading to my red wire GFI

How do I connect the white wires? I can't keep that second one from tripping???

Any advice or diagrams would be MUCHO appreciated.

Thanks,

Dave

Advertisement

dlgobeavs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 07:28 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Need GFCI wiring help



Advertisement

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 07:34 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Need GFCI wiring help


Quote:
Originally Posted by dlgobeavs View Post
OK... so I am wiring my house... have done it once before... so I started to get a bit tricky.

I have two circuits for plugs in my kitchen... here was the plan:

Run a 12-3 into the kitchen.
Use the red wire for one circuit... and the black for my second circuit.
I realize that I must run these two circuits off of different "phases" on the panel.

Into my first box I have the following:
12-3 containing both circuits
12-2 leading to the first plug after my black wire GFI
12-2 Leading to a second plug after my black wire GFI
12-2 leading to my red wire GFI

How do I connect the white wires? I can't keep that second one from tripping???

Any advice or diagrams would be MUCHO appreciated.

Thanks,

Dave
Hope you can understand my diagram I whipped up.
I assume this is how you have it right?

With multiwire circuits and gfcis, you have to keep the white wire off ANY terminal, must be pigtailed.

You must have a means to disconnect the multiwire circuit completely, a double pole 20 amp should fix this.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by rgsgww; 09-30-2008 at 09:14 PM. Reason: felt like it...
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 07:59 PM   #4
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Need GFCI wiring help


Oh I wanna draw a picture!!!!!
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 08:05 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,388
Rewards Points: 3,570
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Need GFCI wiring help


The 12/3 white wire must not be connected to any of the GFCI LOAD terminals. It can only connect to the black and red circuit LINE terminals.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 08:13 PM   #6
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Need GFCI wiring help


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
The 12/3 white wire must not be connected to any of the GFCI LOAD terminals. It can only connect to the black and red circuit LINE terminals.
Well, really, the 12-3 white can't be connected to any terminals at all. It must be pigtailed. 300.13(B)
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 09:11 AM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,388
Rewards Points: 3,570
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Need GFCI wiring help


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
Well, really, the 12-3 white can't be connected to any terminals at all. It must be pigtailed. 300.13(B)
If you don't connect it to any terminals at all then the circuit won't be complete.
It is true if it is connecting to more than one device then you must use pigtails. You can't use the feed through of the receptacle. If you are only connecting to 12/2 cables then no pigtails are required.

Last edited by joed; 10-01-2008 at 10:05 AM.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 01:14 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,002
Rewards Points: 506
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Need GFCI wiring help


It should be noted that any standard outlet that connects to the LOAD terminals MUST have its white wire connected to the white Load terminal. That is to say, downstream outlets cannot have the white wire connecting to the source bypassing the GFCI outlet that protects it. This will undoubtedly cause the GFCI to trip with anything plugged into the downstream outlets.

Advertisement

theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freezer tripping GFCI davidclements Appliances 57 08-13-2014 09:14 PM
GFCI Question Mdbuilder Electrical 6 06-19-2008 04:15 PM
GFCI questions 5circles Electrical 4 11-05-2007 09:24 PM
wiring a gfci outlet in circuit bobo Electrical 12 08-31-2005 09:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts