Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-31-2012, 05:25 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 16
Share |
Default

Need to fix this right...fluorescent fixture mounting with a open box


Im trying to mount my new fixtures and the *******s that put the old ones up cut a big ass square hole for a round box. Also, because of the way the joists run, I need my new lights to mount to STRUCTURE. The old ones only mounted to structure on one side and on the other they just screwed it into the hardboard. Not cool.

ANyway, this is where my new fixtures are and where they need to be. I need to pigtail out of that box and get around to the inside the fixture. How in the world do I close up that hole? If I need a cover, its going to have to be WELL oversized, by about an inch on all sides, and need to be thin to slide under the fixture. Also, it needs to be friendly to wiring to go through.

What's the solution? I would like this to be to 'code', but if thats going to be a pain in the ass or expensive, then I want to do it to 'whatever looks best and will work safely'.

Thoughts?

I have EIGHT like this.

I can't mount the light over that box and the wires need to come in through the end, so they will at least be partially exposed even when installed. Im ok with this if its OK.



I cant move the fixutre over the hole since its mounted to the side of the structure I need to attach my fixture to.

brazosdog02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 05:32 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Need to fix this right...fluorescent fixture mounting with a open box


A couple toggle bolts will hold that right where you need it to.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
brazosdog02 (12-31-2012)
Old 12-31-2012, 05:38 PM   #3
Journeyman Wireman
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 188
Default

Need to fix this right...fluorescent fixture mounting with a open box


Could you clarify a couple of things?

Are these lights mounted on the exterior of your house? On a vertical wall or ceiling?

I'm not sure why you can't move the fixture to fully cover the hole. That is typically how lights are installed. They either cover the hole with a housing or the fixture itself.

When you say the fixture needs to be attached to the structure do you mean only to a joist or stud? There are many adequate anchors that would allow your to support the light from the "hardboard".
Jupe Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jupe Blue For This Useful Post:
brazosdog02 (12-31-2012)
Old 12-31-2012, 05:41 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 16
Default

Need to fix this right...fluorescent fixture mounting with a open box


This is on the exterior of my home, under a covered car port. My joists run parallel to the light installed and the light is mounted with TWO single 2" deck screws directly through the housing into the cieling joist.

Are toggle bolts the correct means of anchoring this fixture to the hardi board that's 1/4" thick?

ALSO..these are vaportite fixtures. Can I break open the knockouts in the interior metal portion and drill through the fiberglass housing and put one of those threaded wire 'clamp' things in it and simply caulk it heavily once installed?

Last edited by brazosdog02; 12-31-2012 at 07:16 PM.
brazosdog02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 12:12 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Huntsville, AL USA
Posts: 229
Default

Need to fix this right...fluorescent fixture mounting with a open box


Do you have access to the space above the ceiling? If so, you could nail in some blocking between the joists so you can mount the fixture over the hole.
fa_f3_20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 12:24 PM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,415
Default

Need to fix this right...fluorescent fixture mounting with a open box


Check out this graphic regarding access to the box.

http://www.mikeholt.com/reprint_request2000.php?id=3199
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 12:38 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Default

Need to fix this right...fluorescent fixture mounting with a open box


Can you move it a tad further away?

Then maybe something like...




Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 01:07 PM   #8
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 698
Default

Need to fix this right...fluorescent fixture mounting with a open box


You can either completely cover the box with the light, or not at all. your choice. The way you have it halfway over the box will not work.
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 01:11 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 16
Default

Need to fix this right...fluorescent fixture mounting with a open box


Putting it further away will put the lights far too close together to light the edges. My only real good option here is to cover the box completely, which is what I want to do. But it will require cutting a hole through my vaportight fixture and using a knockout to gain access to put the wires through. This is OK I assume, provided I caulk the area and return it to its vapor tight status.

If I used conduit and moved the lights, it would require a cover that was big enough for a dual gang old work box, and that would look terrible. Ill look around.
brazosdog02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 04:46 PM   #10
Journeyman Wireman
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 188
Default

Need to fix this right...fluorescent fixture mounting with a open box


Remove one the the knock out in the back. Use a bushing or close nipple to protect wires. Place light over outlet box mounting with toggle bolts. It's up to you whether you need a vapor tight light. Not required by code in a carport.
Jupe Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 06:21 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 16
Default

Need to fix this right...fluorescent fixture mounting with a open box


That's exactly what Im going to do. The vaportight was partially bought to reduce dust and bugs.

Is it true or not that the humidity is what kills a ballast so that it stops working and lighting a GOOD bulb when its humid out?
brazosdog02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 10:40 PM   #12
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Need to fix this right...fluorescent fixture mounting with a open box


Quote:
Originally Posted by brazosdog02 View Post
That's exactly what Im going to do. The vaportight was partially bought to reduce dust and bugs.

Is it true or not that the humidity is what kills a ballast so that it stops working and lighting a GOOD bulb when its humid out?
For the humid it depending on the lamp and ballast combation but with vapour tight luminaire as you have there that should not affect much as open luminaires are.

The quickest way to kill the electronic ballast is voltage surge that useally do it in most case then second most common way to kill them is wrong lamps.

There is a other benfit using the vapourtight luminaires is that they can able light up better in cold weather due the lamps are enclosed so it can warm up better than the bare lamps will deal with it.

The other benifts is that you do have some kind of protection as well.

If all the luminaries are outdoor the best thing is use the weather proof junction box as someone posted and use the liquidtight flexiable conduit that useally do it very well.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 08:04 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 16
Default

Need to fix this right...fluorescent fixture mounting with a open box


Got all 6 of the 8 dual element T5HO fixtures up. They are bright. Like...awesome bright. They replaced aging T12. Seriously, they are sweet. Not sure about the diffuser, its somewhat of an orange peel type, maybe a different one would be better, but at 9' hight, I think its best this way. I can finally see to work on my car and woodworking stuff. Awesome.

Noticed ONE fixture seemed to have a different ballast in it for some reason, Not sure if that matters. I have extra fixtures since one has a busted diffuser. Any reason to change out that ballast?

Last edited by brazosdog02; 01-02-2013 at 08:09 PM.
brazosdog02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 08:26 PM   #14
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 698
Default

Need to fix this right...fluorescent fixture mounting with a open box


ballasts are bought by the railcar load by the factory, from whichever manufacturer was the cheapest when they purchased. Getting different ballast manufacturers is not uncommon in a single fixture type
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 08:27 PM   #15
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Need to fix this right...fluorescent fixture mounting with a open box


Quote:
Originally Posted by brazosdog02 View Post
Got all 6 of the 8 dual element T5HO fixtures up. They are bright. Like...awesome bright. They replaced aging T12. Seriously, they are sweet. Not sure about the diffuser, its somewhat of an orange peel type, maybe a different one would be better, but at 9' hight, I think its best this way. I can finally see to work on my car and woodworking stuff. Awesome.

Noticed ONE fixture seemed to have a different ballast in it for some reason, Not sure if that matters. I have extra fixtures since one has a busted diffuser. Any reason to change out that ballast?
Did you read the model number of that luminarie ? if it was the same with other then someone might got that swapped or have differnt verison due there are few luminaires that are wired for 277 volts so that may get your attetion on that part.

Did you get all them from the big box store ? if so if one of them have busted lens then you should deal with that big box store about the damaged lens to see what they can do with it.

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing fluorescent fixture Yod12 Electrical 3 09-03-2012 03:52 PM
flickering fluorescent fixture? cbzdel Electrical 2 05-23-2012 08:05 AM
hardwire a pre wired, plug in fluorescent fixture...? inlovewithohio Electrical 3 12-01-2010 11:10 AM
fluorescent fixture/bulbs december45 Electrical 6 08-22-2009 12:05 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.