Need Electrical Advice, Please! - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-27-2012, 08:35 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Lightbulb

Need electrical advice, please!

Hi guys, I am a newbie to this site, but I was hoping someone could help help me solve a slight issue that i am having. I am building a small paint booth for airbrushing, and am planning to use a 12 volt blower motor that I found from an unknown toyota car to exhaust the paint fumes through ducting out a window(I really want to use this fan because it has a sealed external motor). I tested the fan with a 10 amp battery charger which spun the fan fine, with plenty of air movement. I am currently trying to run the fan on AC power from a plain wall outlet in my house, but so far i have found nothing to do so. I tried a small AC to DC converter which didn't meet up to the amps needed because the fan didnt even stay in constant motion, next I tried a laptop adapter that put out 6 amps at 20 volts and had the same effect as the last. If anybody has any tips as to how I can make this work, please help me out! I am very good with cars, but nothing close to an electrician. Thank you in advance for any and all advice!

Advertisement

motohead918 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 08:47 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 664

Not a great plan. Your really need a 110 volt fan with an TEFC exposion proof motor. Not likly a car fan will be able to move enough volume of air.
You also need to come up with a filter system before that fan.

Advertisement

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
motohead918 (02-27-2012)
Old 02-27-2012, 09:04 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 10