Need Electical Help. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-03-2011, 03:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need electical help.


So I am replacing an outside light on my garage with a motion sensor light There is a switch on the wall for this outlet.. The switch only works when garage light is out... My problem is, when i try to test security light, it turns on the lights in my garage and not the actual security light. Any suggestions on where to start... I hooked it up exactly the way the old light was.

Advertisement

HVAC GUY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 03:50 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,386
Rewards Points: 3,566
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Need electical help.


Start by telling us about all the cables in the switch and light boxes.

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 03:55 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need electical help.


one set of wires ran into the switch and 2 sets of wires running into the box. This is at the end of a my house and the only electric lines in this area... the two sets of wires in the box, one is taken from each set and capped off with a wire nut, one black and one white. the others going to the light..
HVAC GUY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 05:56 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,386
Rewards Points: 3,566
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Need electical help.


You have described a switch loop setup like this diagram. However since other fixtures are going on/off with the switch I think the cables don't go where you think.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 09:33 PM   #5
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Need electical help.


Quote:
Originally Posted by HVAC GUY View Post
...The switch only works when garage light is out... My problem is, when i try to test security light, it turns on the lights in my garage and not the actual security light.
Check the switch that controls the garage lights. I wonder if it's wired properly there, or maybe it's a 3-way switch that got converted to a single pole and didn't get done correctly. The switch that controls the outside light should have constant power. Might not be getting it correctly from the garage switch box.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
electical issue..... J man Electrical 2 08-31-2010 10:27 PM
outdoor wiring, electical outlets tripping frgwtchr Electrical 6 07-25-2009 12:56 PM
Electical Wire Near Heat Vent Glimmerman911 Electrical 2 12-18-2007 04:58 PM
Electical planning for remodel wease Electrical 10 12-09-2006 11:36 AM
New home electical cost wdsfr1968 Electrical 8 08-15-2006 07:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts