Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-31-2007, 12:08 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Need Elec Outlets On the Outside

My new Manufactured home only has one outlet on one side of the home. I need one more outlet on the one side and two on the other. Can I just put a hole through the wall from an existing outlet inside and add it to the outside? I figure they would have to be GFCI outlets.

jinks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2007, 01:29 AM   #2
Long-Time DIYer

Jinks,
I am not a professional electrician, just a long-time DIYer, but I believe that yes, you can add exterior outlets from an interior circuit, and yes, they have to be GFCI-protected.
Check with your Building Inspection Department for local code, permit and inspection requirements.
However, you should only have one GFCI outlet per circuit, which will make all conventional receptacles GFCI-protected after it in the same circuit. Do not add a GFCI receptacle to a circuit that has a GFCI breaker (such as possibly a bathroom or kitchen receptacle circuit). More than one GFCI device on a circuit will keep causing it to trip.
Double-check the circuits that you're working with. You may be better off wiring underneath the manufactured home and looping from the one existing exterior GFCI-protected receptacle to the other three in a single circuit.
Now, let the pros in here tell you facts and advise you. That's just my non-professional opinion.
Good luck!
Mike

Mike Swearingen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2007, 06:09 AM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.

You can do as you intend, with some code restrictions.
You cannot tap off a kitchen/DR/nook of similar circuit. Nor can you tap off a bathroom receptacle circuit.

Outdoor receptacles must be GFI protected. It is always easiest to have a GFI device where you need it, as opposed to a GFI breaker.